FR

Qarib

Supporting the media to foster social cohesion

Jordan, Lebanon, Iraq and Palestine all currently face similar challenges in terms of social cohesion. In these countries, as elsewhere, the media play a role in the transmission of values and the representation of identity, and as such, can be a powerful means to achieve social transformation, capable of soothing tensions.

 

Timetable

January 2020 – December 2024

Total budget

€10 million

Democratic governance Environment Gender equality Misinformation Young people

With funding from the French development agency (AFD), the regional project Qarib (“close” in Arabic) reinforces the media and the production of news in four Middle-Eastern countries, in order to promote public debate and foster social cohesion and inclusivity, especially for women. This project covers both region-wide and nation-wide activities that are conducive to mutual enrichment.

In 2021, Qarib launched the project #SA7, implemented by ARIJ (Arab Reporters for Investigative Journalism), with the aim of setting up a network of organisations and individuals in Palestine, Lebanon, Iraq and Jordan to help fight misinformation. #SA7 is part of the AFCN (Arab Fact Checker Network), and will offer its members training courses on fact-checking and raising awareness of misinformation.

Fostering the production of content on social themes

During the year, Qarib helped around 20 media outlets to develop content that locals will be able to relate to, on themes such as gender, the environment and young people. Nisaa FM (Palestine), Al Menasa (Iraq), Sada Podcast (Jordan) and Daraj (Lebanon) produced some 60 articles and audio and video segments promoting the cause of women, to facilitate inclusion and provide insights into their preoccupations within society. Three Lebanese media outlets, Raseef22, Beirut Today and Megaphone thus benefitted from support to produce subjects on daily life.

“Qarib support was crucial for Beirut Today because it gave us the freedom and capacity to diversify, producing relevant, in-depth documentary work. We had always wanted to do this, but lacked the capacity. Our media outlet has offered opportunities to young independent stakeholders on the Lebanese media scene, at a time when the economic crisis had curtailed opportunity.”
Laudy Issa, Project Manager and journalist at Beirut Today

Lastly, the Samir Kassir foundation helped a dozen or so media outlets in Lebanon and Palestine to ensure the viability of their structure. This reinforcement of economic models is also of interest to incubators and local stakeholders in media development, and will benefit other media outlets in the longer term.


More projects carried out in 2021

EN

Qarib

Accompagner les médias pour favoriser la cohésion sociale

La Jordanie, le Liban, l’Irak et la Palestine sont aujourd’hui confrontés à des enjeux similaires en termes de cohésion sociale. Dans ces pays, comme partout ailleurs, les médias, à la fois acteurs de transmission des valeurs et de représentation des identités, peuvent constituer de puissants outils de transformation sociale, capables d’apaiser les tensions.

Calendrier

Janvier 2020 – Décembre 2024

Budget global

10M €

Égalité hommes femmes Environnement Gouvernance démocratique Infox Jeunesse

Financé par l’Agence française de développement (AFD), le projet régional Qarib (« proche » en arabe) renforce les médias et la production d’information dans quatre pays du Proche et Moyen-Orient, afin d’encourager la cohésion sociale, favoriser l’inclusion des populations, en particulier des femmes, et promouvoir le débat public. Ce projet regroupe des activités à la fois régionales et nationales qui s’enrichissent mutuellement.

En 2021, Qarib a lancé le projet #SA7, mis en œuvre par ARIJ (Arab Reporters for Investigative Journalism), qui vise à établir un réseau d’organisations et d’individus en Palestine, au Liban, en Irak et en Jordanie pour contribuer à lutter contre la désinformation. #SA7, qui s’inscrit au sein de l’AFCN (Arab Fact Checker Network), proposera à ses membres des formations au fact-checking ainsi que des campagnes de sensibilisation à la désinformation.

Encourager la production de contenus sur des thèmes de société

Durant l’année, Qarib a accompagné une vingtaine de médias dans le développent de contenus de proximité sur les thématiques du genre, de l’environnement ou encore de la jeunesse. Parmi eux, Radio Nisaa (Palestine), Al Menassa (Irak), Sada Podcast (Jordanie) et Daraj (Liban) ont produit une soixantaine de contenus écrits, audio et vidéo en faveur des femmes, afin de faciliter leur inclusion et la compréhension de leurs préoccupations au sein de la société. Trois médias libanais, Raseef22, Beirut Today et Megaphone ont aussi bénéficié d’un soutien à la production de sujets sur la vie quotidienne.

« L’appui de Qarib a été essentiel pour Beirut Today car il nous a donné la liberté et la capacité de nous diversifier dans un travail documentaire pertinent et approfondi, ce que nous avions toujours voulu faire, mais sans en avoir la capacité. Notre média a  offert des opportunités aux jeunes acteurs indépendants de l’écosystème médiatique libanais, dans une période où la crise économique avait limité toutes leurs possibilités. » Laudy Issa, responsable de projet et journaliste à Beirut Today

Enfin, au Liban et en Palestine, la fondation Samir Kassir a aidé une dizaine de médias à assurer la viabilité de leur structure. Ce renforcement des modèles économiques, qui concerne aussi des incubateurs et acteurs locaux du développement des médias, bénéficiera, à plus long terme, à d’autres médias.


Autres projets menés en 2021