FR

Afri’Kibaaru

Raising the standard for information on sustainable development in the Sahel region

The people of Greater Sahel do not have access to enough media content that is reliable, accessible and attractive to get a proper grasp of the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The media have a major role to play to enhance this content.

 

Timetable

December 2020 – December 2023

Total budget

€3.5 million

Democratic governance Environment Gender equality The French-speaking world Young people

Since late 2020, Afri’Kibaaru (meaning “news” in several African languages) has been raising awareness and training media professionals from six countries in the Sahel region on sustainable development issues. This project was set up in partnership with France Médias Monde (FMM), with funding from the French development agency (AFD), to give the people of Greater Sahel access to reliable, accessible and attractive content on climate change, gender equality, healthcare, education and the SDGs in general, to then play an active role in implementing these goals.

Training courses to make content on the SDGs accessible

In September 2021, the first training courses on the “basics and fundamentals of journalism” involved 90 journalists (including 50 women) working for the 46 media partners from six countries involved in the project (Mauritania, Senegal, Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger and Chad). Adama Diarra from the radio station Jamana FM in Mopti, Mali has already enjoyed many benefits: “After the training course, I went out into the field to write my own articles and choose my own angles, which I never used to do before.”

Preparing reports, seeking an angle, ensuring a fair gender balance in the choice of sources, writing articles, handling on-air design, fact-checking etc.: the trainers have been able to review all the basics, using the SDGs as a common theme. In Mauritania, trainer David Solon encouraged the journalists to pool their talents to set up a Facebook page. This page, entitled MauriMedia, features all publications on the SDGs, to encourage journalists to create links on these issues.

Coaching for in-depth insights into the fundamentals

The 46 media outlets involved in the project also enjoyed four days of coaching to facilitate hands-on learning, sometimes to immediate effect. In Burkina Faso, trainer Charlemagne Abissia noted that “RTB’s new Radio rurale programme schedule now factors the SDGs in more, and in a more strategic way.” In Niger, a journalist from Nagarta Radio noticed that the station “used to cover the SDGs without realising it,” and that “the training on fundamentals and the coaching have helped us address them better.”

This coaching also had an impact on the diversification of media used to produce content. Rafika Bendermel, a trainer in Senegal, observed that “media outlets are starting to expand into multimedia formats. Jokko FM and Dabakh FM are making video reports and the Radio Municipale de Dakar created its own Spotify podcast.”

Lastly, Afri’Kibaaru launched the first competition for journalistic content on the theme of innovation in gender equality, resulting in the presentation of 41 initiatives. The winners will receive a grant and six months’ support to bring their project to fruition.


More projects carried out in 2021

EN

Afri’Kibaaru

Enrichir l’information sur le développement durable au Sahel

Les populations du Grand Sahel ne disposent pas suffisamment de contenus médiatiques fiables, accessibles et attractifs pour appréhender les objectifs du développement durable (ODD). Les médias ont un rôle majeur à jouer pour enrichir ces contenus.

Calendrier

Décembre 2020 – Décembre 2023

Budget global

3,5M €

Égalité hommes femmes Environnement Francophonie Gouvernance démocratique Jeunesse

Depuis fin 2020, Afri’Kibaaru* sensibilise et forme des professionnel·les des médias de six pays du Sahel aux enjeux du développement durable (ODD). Financé par l’Agence Française de Développement (AFD) et mis en place en partenariat avec France Médias Monde (FMM), ce projet doit permettre aux populations du Grand Sahel de disposer de contenus fiables, accessibles et attractifs sur le changement climatique, l’égalité femmes-hommes, la santé, l’éducation et plus largement les ODD afin qu’elles deviennent actrices de leur mise en œuvre.

Des formations pour rendre les contenus sur les ODD accessibles

En septembre 2021, les premières formations sur les « bases et fondamentaux du journalisme » ont mobilisé 90 journalistes (dont 50 femmes) travaillant pour les 46 médias partenaires des six pays du projet (Mauritanie, Sénégal, Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger et Tchad). Adama Diarra de la Radio Jamana à Mopti en a déjà tiré de nombreux bénéfices : « Après la formation j’ai commencé à aller sur le terrain et à faire mes propres papiers journalistiques, à choisir mes angles, choses que je ne faisais pas avant. »

Préparation des sujets, recherche d’angles, équilibre des genres dans le choix des sources, rédaction d’article, habillage, vérification d’informations… Les personnes formatrices ont pu faire le tour des fondamentaux, avec comme fil conducteur les ODD. En Mauritanie, le formateur David Solon a encouragé les journalistes à s’unir pour créer une page Facebook. Cette page, intitulée Mauri Média rassemble les publications sur les ODD, pour encourager les journalistes à créer des liens autour de ces enjeux.

Du coaching pour approfondir les fondamentaux

Les 46 médias du projet ont également bénéficié de quatre jours de coaching pour faciliter la mise en pratique des apprentissages avec des effets parfois immédiats. Au Burkina Faso, le formateur Charlemagne Abissi a noté que « la nouvelle grille des programmes de la RTB Radio rurale prend davantage en compte les ODD et de façon plus stratégique ». Au Niger, une journaliste de Radio Nagarta s’est aperçue que la station « traitait des ODD auparavant sans le savoir » et que « la formation sur les fondamentaux et le coaching ont permis de mieux les aborder. »

Ce coaching a aussi eu un impact sur la diversification des supports de production. Rafika Bendermel, formatrice au Sénégal, a constaté que « les médias commencent à développer des formats multimédias. Jokko fm et Dabakh fm se mettent au reportage vidéo et la Radio Municipale de Dakar a créé son podcast sur Spotify. »

Enfin, Afri’Kibaaru a lancé un premier concours de productions journalistiques sur le thème de l’innovation autour de l’égalité femmes-hommes, au terme duquel 41 initiatives ont été présentées. Les personnes lauréates bénéficieront d’une bourse et d’un accompagnement de six mois pour réaliser leur projet.


*Kibaaru signifie « informations » dans plusieurs langues africaines


Autres projets menés en 2021