FR

D-Jil

Innovating and creating digital content for young people

The actions undertaken via the D-Jil project since 2018 have been to improve the provision of information to young citizens in the Arab world (Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, Libya, Egypt, Palestine, Syria, Lebanon and Jordan) to make these citizens more media literate and to get them more involved in public discussions.

Timetable

February 2018 – January 2022

Total budget

€2.5m

Democratic governance Digital Gender equality Social cohesion Young people

In 2020, support continued for 18 innovative projects for young people, which were selected after hackathons* in 2018 and 2019. The incubation session, which was initially scheduled to be held in Casablanca in March, was able to take place in December, albeit online, as health requirements meant that it could not be held in person. “Given our current situation, it proved to be a very convenient time to incubate digital marketing strategies and consider the site’s technical redesign”, says Kenza Sefrioui of the Open Chabab project (Morocco). D-Jil project leaders received general and personal training in IT and digital marketing over the course of three days. Several project leaders were taught how to plan a campaign to disseminate articles, while others managed to enhance their SEO strategy in order to boost the visibility of publications on search engines. Lastly, they received advice on how to gain more readers and they worked on enhancing their visual identity.

A project development grant

Even though the COVID-19 pandemic led to a temporary halt to the activities for some of the 18 projects, they all continued to develop in the meantime thanks to a grant that was awarded to them. So, while Mégaphone (Lebanon) published a video that explained the workings of the Lebanese economy, Men Lewwel (Morocco) broadcast science videos for young people that were designed to be easy to understand. The most recent video looked at the water cycle and gained over 5,700 reactions on Facebook. Al-Hudood (Jordan) continued to train young people on how to produce satirical content and Echoes (Algeria) resumed its podcast, community management and content creation training sessions aimed at students from Oran. All of these productions will also be of use during media literacy workshops organised in various countries by ERIM (formerly known as IREX Europe), the most recent of which was held in Algeria in early 2020. Since then, COVID-19 has forced content to be adapted for online publication and upcoming workshops will be held remotely.

D-Jil is run by a consortium of partners composed of the following members: CFI, the Samir Kassir Foundation (Lebanon), IREX Europe (France), FMAS (Morocco) and Leaders of Tomorrow (Jordan). It is co-financed by the European Union.


* An event lasting several days during which experts get together to work on a collaborative computer programming or digital creation project.


More projects carried out in 2020

EN

D-Jil

Innover et créer des contenus numériques pour les jeunes

Depuis 2018, D-Jil agit pour dynamiser l’offre d’information vers les jeunes citoyens et citoyennes du monde arabe (Algérie, Maroc, Tunisie, Libye, Égypte, Palestine, Syrie, Liban et Jordanie), pour renforcer leur culture médiatique et pour accroître leur participation au débat public.

Calendrier

Février 2018 – Janvier 2022

Budget global

2,5 M€

Cohésion sociale Egalité hommes femmes Gouvernance démocratique Jeunesse Numérique

En 2020, l’accompagnement des 18 projets innovants à destination des jeunes, qui avaient été sélectionnés au terme d’hackathons* en 2018 et 2019, s’est poursuivi. Ainsi, la session d’incubation, initialement prévue à Casablanca en mars, a pu se dérouler en décembre, en ligne, les conditions sanitaires ne permettant pas de la tenir en présentiel. « Au stade où nous en sommes, l’incubation sur les stratégies de marketing digital et la réflexion sur la refonte technique du site était très opportune », estime ainsi Kenza Sefrioui d’Open Chabab (Maroc). Pendant trois jours, les porteuses et porteurs de projets D-Jil ont bénéficié de sessions générales et individuelles de formation en informatique et en marketing digital. Plusieurs ont appris à planifier une campagne de diffusion des articles, d’autres ont pu renforcer leur stratégie de référencement pour que les publications soient plus visibles sur les moteurs de recherches. Ils ou elles ont enfin reçu des conseils pour augmenter le nombre de lecteurs et lectrices et travaillé au renforcement de leur identité visuelle.

Une subvention pour financer le développement des projets 

En parallèle, les 18 projets ont poursuivi leur développement grâce à la subvention qui leur a été octroyée, malgré, pour certains, un gel temporaire de leurs activités dû à la pandémie de Covid-19. Ainsi, pendant que Mégaphone (Liban) publiait une vidéo explicative sur les rouages de l’économie libanaise, Men Lewwel (Maroc) diffusait des vidéos de vulgarisation scientifique à destination des jeunes, dont la dernière, sur le cycle de l’eau, a comptabilisé plus de 5 700 réactions sur Facebook. El Hudood (Jordanie) continuait à former des jeunes à produire des contenus satiriques et Echoes (Algérie) reprenait ses formations de podcast, de community management et de création de contenus, à destination des étudiants et étudiantes d’Oran. Toutes ces productions pourront aussi être utilisées pour des ateliers d’éducation aux médias organisés dans les différents pays par Erim (ex Irex Europe). Le dernier s’est tenu en Algérie début 2020. Depuis, Covid-19 oblige, les contenus ont été adaptés en ligne et les prochains ateliers se feront à distance.

D-Jil est mis en œuvre par un consortium de partenaires dont les membres sont CFI, la Fondation Samir Kassir (Liban), IREX Europe (France), FMAS (Maroc) et Leaders of Tomorrow (Jordanie) et est cofinancé par l’Union européenne.


* Événement au cours duquel des spécialistes se réunissent durant plusieurs jours autour d’un projet collaboratif de programmation informatique ou de création numérique.


Autres projets menés en 2020