FR

MEDIALAB

Promoting the production of innovative content in the Arab world and in Africa

CFI launched “MediaLab” in 2018 thanks to a one-off grant awarded by the French Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs, as part of the French-speaking and multilingualism plan. The projects attached to the MediaLab label promote the development of innovative content, predominantly in French, in the Arab world and in Africa.

Timetable

July 2018 – June 2021

Total budget

€970,000

Democratic governance Digital Environment Gender equality The French-speaking world Young people

MediaLab Innovation

MediaLab Innovation is supporting four innovative editorial projects in French for media outlets in Algeria, Lebanon and Morocco. Despite the health and socio-economic crises in each of these three countries, remote learning sessions supported small teams from these outlets, which are committed to providing reliable and independent information. This approach has been a success, given that these media outlets have broadened their editorial output, especially in terms of video content, and improved their ratings. 

We need to gain journalistic techniques and methods of working to provide our young listeners with content that is both educational and entertaining. »
Lamia Rassi (executive director of Planet News Business and founder of Yomkom).

MediaLab Campus

MediaLab Campus promotes human exchanges between journalism schools on both sides of the Mediterranean. Four female journalism students received grants for internships at French and Tunisian media outlets in 2020. Three young female Moroccan students at the ISIC (Higher Institute of Information and Communication) had the unusual experience of being forced to go into lockdown for two weeks after arriving in France. This did nothing to deter them, however, as they explain: “This grant helped me to achieve one of my dreams. […] I was able to open a door that seemed to be off limits to me.” “This allows you to consider new challenges, to get out of your comfort zone and set yourself new limits.”

The pandemic meant that many internships and most of the inter-school partnership projects had to be cancelled or pushed back, but some of them managed to adapt by making use of video conference exchanges

MediaLab Investigation

In December 2020, the Iraqi journalist Asaad Zalzali was awarded the prize for the best investigation published within the framework of the MediaLab Investigation project during the virtual closing ceremony of the annual forum of ARIJ (Arab Reporters for Investigative Journalism). He was one of the six investigative journalists shortlisted for the prize for his report on the trafficking of pharmaceuticals in Iraq. The journalists came from Tunisia, Morocco, Egypt, Palestine and Iraq and received personalised assistance to produce their investigations into health, which included training sessions and financial support – all against the backdrop of a challenging healthcare environment brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic. 

MediaLab Environnement

MediaLab Environment helps to improve awareness of environmental challenges by promoting the inclusion of stories concerning the environment in journalistic content produced in six countries: Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Egypt, Lebanon and Jordan. Through an approach based on the exchange and sharing of expertise between local stakeholders and journalists, this project managed to get dozens of media professionals to engage with environmental concerns in 2020. Six journalists followed a “train the trainer” course to coach 23 people working on environmental topics who are committed to producing audiovisual content in line with a solutions journalism approach. Ultimately, six media outlets and eight journalists were selected to receive support for the production of investigative content.

The exchanges and resources shared during the meetings and workshops have opened our eyes to new approaches to tackling environmental challenges. »
Ahmed Sabaa Ellil (Climate in Arabic – Egypt)

MediaLab pour Elles [MediaLab for Women]

Implemented with support provided by the pan-African network “Open Data pour Elles [Open Data for Women]”, MédiaLab pour Elles provides journalists with training on how to handle open data concerning gender and with support to investigate gender inequality in French‑speaking Africa. This project was launched in late December 2020 via a call for applications, in order to select 24 journalists from Côte d’Ivoire, Cameroon, Niger and Madagascar for this training programme.

MediaLab falls within the scope of the “International Strategy for the French Language and Multilingualism”, launched by the President of the French Republic in 2018, which aims specifically to “strengthen Francophone media” and “promote the model of free and independent information”. The aim of this initiative is to stimulate new journalistic content in French‑speaking African countries, in French specifically, but not exclusively; it is a question of promoting multilingualism by supporting the development of innovative editorial projects.


More projects carried out in 2020

EN

MÉDIALAB

Favoriser la production de contenus innovants dans le monde arabe et en Afrique

CFI a lancé “MédiaLab” en 2018, grâce à une subvention exceptionnelle accordée par le ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères dans le cadre du plan francophonie et plurilinguisme. Les projets rattachés au label Médialab encouragent le développement de contenus innovants, notamment francophones, dans le monde arabe et en Afrique.

Calendrier

Juillet 2018 – Juin 2021

Budget global

970 000 €

Egalité hommes femmes Environnement Francophonie Gouvernance démocratique Jeunesse Numérique

MédiaLab Innovation

MediaLab Innovation soutient quatre projets éditoriaux innovants en français en faveur de médias en Algérie, au Liban et au Maroc. En dépit des crises sanitaire et socio-économique au sein de ces trois pays, des sessions de formation à distance ont appuyé les petites équipes de ces médias, attachées à fournir une information fiable et indépendante. Ce positionnement a été gagnant, puisque ces médias ont étoffé leur offre éditoriale, notamment pour la production de vidéos, et amélioré leur audience. 

Nous avons besoin d’acquérir les techniques journalistiques et des méthodes de travail pour proposer à notre jeune audience du contenu à la fois éducatif et divertissant. »
Lamia Rassi (directrice générale de Planet News Business et fondatrice de Yomkom).

MédiaLab Campus

MédiaLab Campus favorise les échanges humains entre écoles de journalisme des deux rives de la Méditerranée. En 2020, quatre étudiantes en journalisme ont bénéficié de bourses pour effectuer des stages dans des médias français et tunisiens. Trois jeunes marocaines de l’ISIC (Institut Supérieur de l’Information et de la Communication) ont ainsi fait l’expérience particulière de se retrouver confinées en France deux semaines après leur arrivée. Elles n’ont pas perdu leur enthousiasme pour autant et racontent : « Cette bourse m’a aidée à réaliser l’un de mes rêves. […] J’ai pu ouvrir une porte qui me paraissait impossible à franchir. » « Cela permet d’envisager de nouveaux défis, de sortir de sa zone de confort et de repousser ses limites. » En raison de la pandémie, de nombreux stages ont dû être annulés ou reportés, ainsi que la plupart des projets de partenariats entre écoles, mais certains ont pu s’adapter grâce aux échanges par visioconférence.

MédiaLab Investigation

En décembre 2020, le journaliste irakien Asaad Zalzali a reçu le prix de la meilleure enquête publiée dans le cadre de Médialab Investigation, lors de la cérémonie de clôture virtuelle du forum annuel d’ARIJ (Arab Reporters for Investigative Journalism). Son reportage, portant sur le trafic de médicaments en Irak, était en lice avec ceux des cinq autres journalistes d’investigation sélectionnés. Originaires de Tunisie, du Maroc, d’Égypte, de Palestine et d’Irak, ils et elles ont bénéficié d’un accompagnement personnalisé pour produire leurs enquêtes dans le domaine de la santé, avec notamment des sessions de formation et un soutien financier, le tout dans un contexte sanitaire difficile dû à la pandémie de Covid-19. 

MédiaLab Environnement

MédiaLab Environnement contribue à mieux informer sur les défis environnementaux en encourageant l’intégration de ces enjeux dans les productions journalistiques de six pays : le Maroc, l’Algérie, la Tunisie, l’Égypte, le Liban et la Jordanie. A travers une approche basée sur l’échange et le partage d’expertises entre journalistes et acteurs locaux, ce projet a mobilisé, en 2020, des dizaines de professionnels des médias autour des questions environnementales. Six journalistes ont suivi une formation de formateurs pour encadrer 23 personnes travaillant sur ces thématiques et engagées dans la production de contenus audiovisuels relevant du journalisme de solutions. Enfin, six médias et huit journalistes ont été sélectionnés pour bénéficier d’un soutien à la production de contenus d’investigation.

Les échanges et les ressources partagées dans le cadre des rencontres et ateliers nous ont ouvert de nouvelles perspectives dans la manière d’aborder les défis environnementaux. »
Ahmed Sabaa Ellil (Climate in Arabic – Égypte)

MédiaLab pour Elles

Mis en œuvre avec l’appui du réseau panafricain ‘‘Open data pour Elles’’, MédiaLab pour Elles forme des journalistes aux techniques de traitement des données ouvertes en matière de genre et soutient la réalisation d’enquêtes traitant des inégalités femmes-hommes en Afrique francophone. Ce projet a été lancé fin décembre 2020 avec un appel à candidatures, afin de sélectionner 24 journalistes de Côte d’Ivoire, du Cameroun, du Niger et de Madagascar pour ce programme de formation.

MediaLab s’inscrit dans le cadre de la “stratégie internationale pour la langue française et le plurilinguisme”, lancée par le président de la République en 2018, qui vise notamment à « renforcer les médias francophones » et « à faire la promotion du modèle d’une information libre et indépendante ». Cette initiative a pour enjeu de stimuler une nouvelle offre de contenus journalistiques dans les pays d’Afrique francophone, en particulier en français mais pas uniquement, puisqu’il s’agit de promouvoir le plurilinguisme, en soutenant le développement de projets éditoriaux innovants.


Autres projets menés en 2020