FR

TAFAEL

Using media to contribute to social cohesion in Northern Iraq

In the Nineveh Governorate, the occupation by Islamic State forces and the battles that defined it had a dramatic impact on the social fabric. The Tafael project is raising awareness of social cohesion-related concerns among young Iraqi journalists in this region and is helping them to present this subject in a positive light so that people have access to information that is in line with their expectations and forms connections.

Timetable

July 2019 – March 2021

Total budget

€310,500

Digital Social cohesion Young people

Since 2019, the Tafael project – “Tafael” being an Arabic expression meaning “to go forwards with optimism” – has been harnessing the power of the media in Northern Iraq to help stabilise the region in the aftermath of the crisis. In 2020, 45 people either from the Nineveh Governorate or living there who had received initial training on journalism practices took part in a session on social cohesion issues as well as a workshop dedicated to a specialism (radio, written or video journalism) with formats specially designed to be published online and on social media. 

 

After a period of several months during which this group received production support, a panel composed of several journalists, experts and members of civil society, including Saad Mabrouk and Alia Kdeih from Monte Carlo Doualiya, selected ten stories to be published in local media during 2021. This project’s beneficiaries are now capable of producing positive content concerning peace-building in the region.

Exchanges with the University of Mosul

15 young people from the University of Mosul’s media department took part in workshops that covered the basics of journalism, website management, and how to report on social cohesion and peace-building in Iraq. A website created especially for the media department’s students and teaching staff will enable this group of young people to publish articles and videos produced during their courses.

During the website management training, we co-drafted an editorial charter to be followed by those contributing to the site. This charter will help them get accustomed with this central tenet of journalism. » Saman Noah, trainer


More projects carried out in 2020

EN

TAFAEL

Contribuer à travers les médias à la cohésion sociale dans le nord de l’Irak

Dans la région du Gouvernorat de Ninive, l’occupation de l’Etat Islamique et les combats qui l’ont marquée ont profondément modifié le tissu social. Tafael sensibilise les jeunes journalistes irakiens de cette région aux questions de cohésion sociale et les accompagne pour traiter de manière positive cette thématique, afin que les populations aient accès à des informations adaptées à leurs attentes et génératrices de liens.

Calendrier

Juillet 2019 – Mars 2021

Budget global

310 500 €

Cohésion sociale Jeunesse Numérique

Depuis 2019, Tafael – expression arabe appelant à aller de l’avant avec optimisme – contribue à la dynamique de stabilisation post-crise à travers les médias dans le nord de l’Irak. En 2020, 45 personnes originaires ou résidant dans le gouvernorat de Ninive, qui avaient bénéficié d’une première formation sur les pratiques du journalisme, ont participé à une session sur les enjeux de la cohésion sociale, ainsi qu’à un atelier dédié à une spécialité (radio, écrit ou vidéo) avec des formats adaptés à la diffusion sur internet et les réseaux sociaux.

Après un accompagnement de plusieurs mois dans la réalisation de productions, un jury composé de plusieurs journalistes, experts et membres de la société civile, dont Saad Mabrouk et Alia Kdeih de Monte Carlo Doualiya, a sélectionné dix sujets qui seront publiés dans des médias locaux en 2021. Les bénéficiaires de ce projet sont désormais en mesure de produire des contenus positifs sur les questions de réconciliation dans la région.

Échanges avec l’Université de Mossoul

Quinze jeunes du département médias de l’Université de Mossoul ont participé à des ateliers sur les fondamentaux du journalisme, la gestion d’un site internet, ainsi que la couverture de sujets relatifs à la cohésion sociale et à la réconciliation en Irak. Un site web, spécialement créé pour les élèves et l’équipe enseignante du département médias, leur permettra de publier des articles et des vidéos réalisées dans le cadre de leurs cours.

Lors des formations sur la gestion d’un site internet, nous avons rédigé ensemble une charte éditoriale qui devra être suivie par les contributeurs et contributrices du site. Cela les aidera à se familiariser avec cette notion qui est au cœur du métier de journalisteSaman Noah, formateur


Autres projets menés en 2020