FR

Qudra 2

Production and broadcasting of news for Syrian refugees

Since 2016, CFI has handled media issues for the European programme Qudra – conducted by the German development agency GIZ, in partnership with Expertise France and with mostly EU funding – which gathers and broadcasts  useful information on daily life for Syrian refugees in Jordan and Lebanon, as well as facilitating ties with hosting communities.

 

Timetable

September 2019 - August 2022

Total budget

€2 million

Democratic governance Environment Gender equality Misinformation Young people

Qudra 2 (meaning “capacity” in Arabic) helps to reinforce social cohesion and stability among these communities, mainly by sharing and publishing reliable, accurate information. In 2021, this information mainly focused on employment and education in Jordan, and social welfare in Lebanon.

In response to the pandemic, 15 animation videos were produced in Jordan, in collaboration with the Jordanian Ministries of Education and Employment, to raise awareness of the health measures to be taken, at school and at work, to lessen the risks of infection. These videos were broadcast on television to reach as large an audience as possible. In Lebanon, seven videos were produced with the Lebanese Ministry of Social Affairs, providing advice for parents and carers, on topics such as child safety on Internet, family budgeting in times of crisis, stress management etc.

“Avoiding hate speech”

In 2021, Qudra 2 provided support for 59 journalists from Jordan and Lebanon, of whom 56% were women. Twelve workshops were organised on various themes: fact-checking, ethics in journalism, coverage of the refugee issue, protection for children, gender-sensitive reporting etc. journalism, and coverage of issues such as refugees, protection for children and gender-sensitive reporting.

“I am truly grateful to have participated in this wonderful training course. I have learned the knowledge, tools and skills needed to cover refugee stories in an ethical, professional manner. I was introduced to the notion of ‘‘empathetic journalism’’ and how to avoid hate speech when writing an article.”
Shefa’a Qudah, an independent Jordanian journalist (workshop on covering refugees’ stories)

In both countries, media outlets (Radio Al-Balad, Roya TV and Al Ghad in Jordan, and Raseef22, Beirut Today, Sharika Wa Laken, Daraj Media and Planet News Business in Lebanon) also received support for the production of video content and articles on the themes of cohesion, welfare, employment and education. They were published on the Facebook pages of the Together in Jordan and Together in Lebanon projects, targeting refugees and other vulnerable communities. This content has been viewed over two million times.

“This was a great experience. I was able to acquire skills and even find out about new legislation. I really loved the interactive presentation of the information.”
Hadeel Iskandar, journalist at Daraj Media in Lebanon (workshop on gender-sensitive media coverage)


More projects carried out in 2021

EN

Qudra 2

Production et distribution d’informations pour les populations réfugiées syriennes

Depuis 2016, CFI gère le volet médias du programme européen Qudra – mené par la GIZ (agence d’aide au développement allemande), en partenariat avec Expertise France et majoritairement financé par l’Union européenne – qui assure la collecte et la diffusion d’informations utiles pour la vie quotidienne des populations réfugiées syriennes de Jordanie et du Liban, et facilite les liens avec les communautés d’accueil.

Calendrier

Septembre 2019 - Août 2022

Budget global

2 M€

Égalité hommes femmes Environnement Gouvernance démocratique Infox Jeunesse

Le second volet, Qudra 2* participe au renforcement de la cohésion sociale et de la stabilité entre ces communautés, principalement à travers le partage et la publication d’informations fiables et précises. En 2021, celles-ci ont principalement porté sur l’emploi et l’éducation en Jordanie, et la protection sociale au Liban.

En réponse à la pandémie, quinze vidéos d’animation ont été produites en Jordanie, en collaboration avec les ministères de l’Éducation et du Travail, afin d’informer sur les mesures sanitaires à prendre, à l’école et au travail, pour minimiser les risques d’infection. Afin d’assurer une audience maximale, ces vidéos ont été diffusées à la télévision. Au Liban, sept vidéos de conseils aux parents, ainsi qu’aux soignants et soignantes, ont été produites avec le ministère des Affaires sociales : sécurité des enfants sur Internet, budgétisation familiale en temps de crise, gestion du stress…

« Éviter les discours haineux »

En 2021, 59 journalistes de Jordanie et du Liban ont reçu un soutien de Qudra 2, dont 56% de femmes. Douze ateliers ont été organisés sur des thématiques diverses : vérification des faits, éthique du journalisme, traitement de la question des réfugiés, couverture de la protection de l’enfance, reportages sensibles au genre…

« Je suis vraiment reconnaissante d’avoir participé à cette formidable formation. J’ai pu intégrer les connaissances, les outils et les compétences nécessaires pour couvrir les histoires de réfugiés de manière éthique et professionnelle. J’ai découvert la notion de ‘‘journalisme bienveillant’’ et comment éviter les discours haineux lors de la rédaction d’un article. »
Shefaa Qudah, journaliste jordanienne indépendante (atelier sur la couverture des histoires de réfugiés)

Dans les deux pays, des médias (Radio Al Balad, Roya TV et Al Ghad en Jordanie, et Raseef 22, Beirut Today, Sharika Wa Laken, Daraj et Planet News Business au Liban) ont également été soutenus pour produire des contenus vidéos et des articles sur le thème de la cohésion, de la protection sociale, de l’emploi et de l’éducation. Publiés sur les pages Facebook du projet Together in Jordan et Together in Lebanon, qui ciblent les populations réfugiées et les communautés vulnérables. Ces productions ont atteint plus de deux millions de vues.

« Ce fut une expérience très précieuse. J’ai pu acquérir des compétences et même découvrir de nouvelles lois. J’ai apprécié la manière interactive de présenter les informations. »
Hadeel Iskandar, journaliste à Daraj Media au Liban (atelier sur la couverture médiatique sensible au genre)


*« qudra » signifie « capacité » en arabe


Autres projets menés en 2021