FR

PAMT2

A new stage in the reform of Tunisian media

In Tunisia, the state media were freed during the transition, and played a crucial role in the phase to consolidate democracy in the country. A core facet of PAMT 2 is the leveraging of gains made during the revolution, in terms of freedom of expression and the media, for the benefit of the population.

 

Timetable

December 2021 – December 2026

Total budget

€5.3 million

Democratic governance The French-speaking world Young people

PAMT 2 (the Tunisian media support programme) was launched in March 2021, to follow on from the MEDIA UP 1 project, which was launched by the Delegation of the European Union to Tunisia in Tunisia in 2017 and ran until 2020. The Delegation entrusted the implementation of this programme to CFI and its partners, ANSA (Italy), Article 19 (Tunisia and the UK), Deutsche Welle Akademie (Germany), France Médias Monde (France), INA (France) and Thomson Media (Germany).

The 5-year PAMT 2 is part of a wider-reaching programme, namely the Economic Governance Support Programme (PAGE), which supports Tunisia’s economic transition. The general goal of PAMT 2 is to “enable the public to make informed decisions on socio-economic issues affecting their lives and to participate actively in democratic debates”.

 Reinforcing the professional media sector

Throughout 2021, CFI worked to deploy the team of experts and set up an office in Tunis. While this project was prepared during a period of Covid-19-related travel restrictions, the initial assignments involving technical expertise on-site honed the consortium’s intervention strategy. An official launch ceremony, attended by the Ambassador of the European Union, beneficiary representatives and key stakeholders in the national media scene, was held in Tunis on 30 November 2021.

“In Tunisia, freedom of expression is one of the revolution’s major achievements. New-found awareness of rights and fundamental freedoms has thrown up fresh challenges for the media. The media are now called upon to play an active role in informing, prompting debate and reinforcing democracy and fundamental freedoms. Free access to news and freedom of expression contribute to fostering a culture of accountability and transparency, the foundations upholding democracy in nations.” 
Marcus Cornaro, EU Ambassador

Under the auspices of the EU, CFI, its partners and their Tunisian counterparts thus laid the foundations for PAMT 2 in 2021. The project will touch on various sectors, including regulation, ethics, managing state, private and non-profit media, editorial innovation, communicating to the public and media education. This ambitious programme takes up the challenge of dealing with the ongoing pandemic and uncertainty as to Tunisia’s institutional situation, striving to reinforce the professional media sector, to ensure the broadcasting of free, independent, diverse news.

 

 


More projects carried out in 2021

EN

PAMT2

Une nouvelle étape dans la réforme des médias tunisiens

En Tunisie, les médias gouvernementaux, devenus libres pendant la transition, ont eu un rôle primordial à jouer dans la phase de consolidation du système démocratique du pays. La capitalisation des acquis de la Révolution, au bénéfice de la population, en matière de médias et de liberté d’expression est au cœur du PAMT2.

Calendrier

Décembre 2021 – Décembre 2026

Budget global

5,3 M€

Francophonie Gouvernance démocratique Jeunesse

Lancé en mars 2021, le PAMT2 (Programme d’Appui aux Médias en Tunisie) fait suite au projet MEDIA UP 1, initié par la délégation de l’Union européenne (UE) en Tunisie en 2017 et mené jusqu’en 2020. La Délégation de l’Union européenne en Tunisie a confié la mise en œuvre de ce programme à CFI et à ses partenaires, ANSA (Italie), Article 19 (Tunisie, Royaume-Uni) Deutsche Welle Akademie (Allemagne), France Médias Monde (France), INA (France) et Thomson Media (Allemagne).

D’une durée de cinq ans, le PAMT2 s’inscrit dans un cadre plus large, celui du Programme d’Appui à la Gouvernance Économique (PAGE), qui accompagne la transition économique de la Tunisie. L’objectif général du PAMT2 est de « permettre au public de prendre des décisions éclairées sur les questions socio-économiques affectant leur vie et de participer activement aux débats démocratiques ».

Renforcer le secteur des médias professionnels

Tout au long de l’année 2021, CFI a travaillé au déploiement de l’équipe d’experts et à la mise en place d’un bureau à Tunis. Alors que ce projet a été préparé en période de restrictions de déplacements en raison de la pandémie de Covid-19, les premières missions d’expertise technique sur place ont affiné la stratégie d’intervention du consortium. Une cérémonie de lancement officiel s’est tenue dans la capitale tunisienne le 30 novembre 2021, en présence de l’Ambassadeur de l’Union européenne, des représentants des bénéficiaires et d’acteurs clés du secteur des médias dans le pays.

« En Tunisie, la liberté d’expression représente un des acquis majeurs de la révolution. La prise de conscience des droits et libertés fondamentales a créé de nouveaux défis pour le secteur médiatique. Les médias sont aujourd’hui appelés à jouer un rôle d’acteur d’information, de débat et de renforcement de la démocratie et des libertés fondamentales. Le libre accès à l’information et la liberté d’expression contribuent à instaurer une culture de redevabilité et de transparence, pierres angulaires de la vie démocratique d’une nation. » 
SEM Marcus Cornaro, Ambassadeur de l’Union européenne

Sous l’égide de l’UE, CFI, ses partenaires et leurs interlocuteurs tunisiens ont donc posé en 2021 les jalons du PAMT2, qui interviendra dans des secteurs divers, tels que la régulation, la déontologie, le management des médias publics, privés et associatifs, l’innovation éditoriale, la communication publique ou encore l’éducation aux médias. Ce programme ambitieux relèvera le défi de la crise sanitaire en cours et des incertitudes quant à la situation institutionnelle du pays pour s’attacher à renforcer le secteur des médias professionnels, afin de garantir la diffusion d’une information libre, indépendante et plurielle.


Autres projets menés en 2021