FR

PAGOF

Encouraging the administration and civil society to work towards an open government

Although relatively few French-speaking African countries are currently involved in the Open Government Partnership (OGP) with 6 member countries, the process is generating more and more interest and producing many initiatives. Significant reforms have been carried out over the last few years to improve access to information, financial transparency, citizen participation and accountability, and to satisfy citizens’ aspirations.

Timetable

October 2017 – October 2020

Total budget

€1.5m

Democratic governance Digital The French-speaking world

The Projet d’Appui aux Gouvernements Ouverts Francophones (Project in Support of Open Governments in French-speaking Africa) (#PAGOF), implemented by CFI and Expertise France, supports administrations and civil society, including the media, in order to improve governance, access to information and citizen participation in the establishment and monitoring of public action in Tunisia, Burkina Faso and Côte d’Ivoire. It builds on the work of the OGP, which today brings together 79 countries and civil society organisations (CSOs).

More than 500 people benefited from training and awareness-raising initiatives in 2020. The priority was to advance knowledge of the principles of open government and enhance technical skills to deliver the commitments made in the respective national action plan. 28 Tunisian investigative journalists also took part in workshops on the right to access information in Tunisia or on data journalism and fact-checking.

Administrative transparency and public accountability

In Tunisia, 27 men and 27 women received training to better understand the issues surrounding the Act on the right to access information, which the Tunisian legislature adopted in 2016. This act effectively revolutionises the laws in a country in which it used to be forbidden to disclose administrative information. Public officials responsible for implementing the act at local level as well as journalists and CSO representatives were informed of the possibilities provided by this mechanism for administrative transparency and public accountability.

In Burkina Faso, 223 members of CSOs, media outlets and traditional authorities from twelve municipalities attended workshops on local authorities’ budgetary data, in order to fully play their role in monitoring and scrutinising local public policy. In Côte d’Ivoire, the PAGOF project actively focused on raising awareness of the key principles of the participatory budget through awareness-raising sessions for 147 CSO leaders and training sessions for 192 local elected officials and administrative agents from three municipalities.

Support for ten projects to tackle the pandemic

A call for proposals in connection with “COVID-19 and open government” was launched in June to support African civil society organisations that intended to get involved in the response to the pandemic through initiatives relating to transparency, access to information, and open data. Ten projects received financial support for their initiatives. A webinar was organised in December to promote six initiatives within both the OGP and French-speaking Africa that were aimed at responding to the challenges posed by the pandemic. This event, which clocked up 1,000 views with an average connection time of 50 minutes, led to the sharing of ideas and practical resources while reinforcing the principles of open government.

The Manonga project conducted via the PAGOF project has been rewarding. It has enabled us to grow as an organisation but also to play our part in establishing peace in Madagascar. »
A manager at the Communication Idea Development (CID) NGO

Covid-19 and open government in French speaking Africa.


More projects carried out in 2020

EN

PAGOF

Encourager l’administration et la société civile à œuvrer pour un gouvernement ouvert

La participation au Partenariat pour un Gouvernement Ouvert (PGO) des pays d’Afrique francophone est encore assez limitée (6 pays membres), mais le processus suscite de plus en plus d’intérêt et de nombreuses initiatives.  D’importantes réformes ont vu le jour ces dernières années pour renforcer l’accès à l’information, la transparence financière, la participation citoyenne et la redevabilité, et répondre ainsi aux aspirations citoyennes.

 

Calendrier

Octobre 2017 – Octobre 2020

Budget global

1,5 M€

Francophonie Gouvernance démocratique Numérique

Le Projet d’Appui aux Gouvernements Ouverts Francophones (#PAGOF), mis en œuvre par CFI et Expertise France, accompagne les administrations et la société civile, dont les médias, afin d’améliorer la gouvernance, l’accès à l’information et la participation citoyenne dans la construction et le suivi de l’action publique en Tunisie, au Burkina Faso et en Côte d’Ivoire. Il s’inscrit dans le cadre du PGO, qui regroupe aujourd’hui 79 pays et des organisations de la société civile (OSC).

En 2020, plus de 500 personnes ont bénéficié de formations et d’actions de sensibilisation. L’accent a été mis sur le renforcement des connaissances sur les principes du Gouvernement ouvert et des capacités techniques dans la mise en œuvre des engagements pris dans le cadre de leur plan d’action national. Vingt-huit journalistes d’investigation tunisiens ont, par ailleurs, participé à des ateliers sur le droit d’accès à l’information en Tunisie ou le journalisme de données et la vérification des faits.

Transparence administrative et redevabilité publique

En Tunisie, 54 personnes, dont 50% de femmes, ont été formées pour mieux comprendre les enjeux de la loi relative au droit d’accès à l’information. Adoptée en 2016 par le parlement tunisien, cette loi constitue en effet une “révolution juridique” dans un pays où divulguer l’information administrative était auparavant interdit. Des agents de la fonction publique chargés de mettre la loi en œuvre à l’échelon local, mais aussi des journalistes et représentants d’OSC ont été sensibilisés aux possibilités offertes par cet outil de transparence administrative et de redevabilité publique. 

Au Burkina-Faso, 223 membres d’OSC, de médias et d’autorités coutumières de douze communes ont participé à des ateliers consacrés à la question des données budgétaires des collectivités territoriales, afin de jouer pleinement leur rôle de suivi et de contrôle des politiques publiques locales. En Côte d’Ivoire, l’action du PAGOF s’est concentrée sur la sensibilisation aux principes clés du budget participatif, à travers des sessions de sensibilisation pour 147 responsables d’OSC, et des formations pour 192 élus locaux et agents administratifs de trois communes.

Un soutien à dix projets pour lutter contre la pandémie

En juin, un appel à propositions “Gouvernement ouvert et Covid-19” a été lancé pour appuyer des organisations africaines de la société civile souhaitant contribuer à la lutte contre la pandémie, à travers des initiatives dans les domaines de la transparence, de l’accès à l’information et des données ouvertes. Dix projets ont bénéficié d’un appui financier pour leurs actions. Un webinaire a été organisé en décembre pour valoriser six initiatives, aussi bien au niveau du PGO qu’en Afrique francophone, visant à répondre aux défis posés par la pandémie. Cet évènement, qui a cumulé 1 000 vues avec une moyenne de connexion de 50 minutes, a suscité le partage d’idées et d’outils pratiques, tout en renforçant les principes du gouvernement ouvert.

La réalisation du projet Manonga avec PAGOF a été enrichissante. Cela nous a permis de progresser en tant que structure, mais aussi d’apporter notre part à l’instauration de la paix dans notre pays. »
Un responsable de l’ONG Communication Idea Development (CID)

Covid-19 et gouvernement ouvert en Afrique francophone​


Autres projets menés en 2020