FR

MediaLab for women

Collecting, analysing and publishing gender-related data

In French-speaking Africa, open data is an important source for journalists wishing to cover gender issues. And when data journalism is harnessed to fight gender inequality, it can lead to exciting investigations that shake up received opinion.

 

Timetable

April 2020 - April 2022

Total budget

€235,000

Democratic governance Gender equality The French-speaking world Young people

Since 2020, MediaLab For Women has been training journalists to process gender-related open data. In 2021, 24 journalists (including 13 women) working for 20 media outlets conducted eight collective surveys on gender inequality.

After a 3-week introduction to data-driven journalism and coverage of gender as a theme, these journalists received technical and educational support from a team of 11 trainers. Their research involved gathering both data and first-hand accounts, and led to a dozen exciting publications in partner media in December 2021.

“A ground-breaking adventure in both human and professional terms”

The article on Valifofo, the forced marriage of children rekindled the debate on this practice which is still rife in the south of Madagascar. The one on the impact of priority education zones on schoolgirl attendance in Cameroon emphasised positive, ongoing changes and the need to persevere. An in-depth survey of gender parity in politics was published in the Express de Madagascar. Another, which pointed out the need to take women into account when implementing agricultural policy in Cameroon reiterated the difficulties encountered when endeavouring to include women in agricultural support programmes.

“This experience absolutely should be repeated. It was a ground-breaking adventure in both human and professional terms, an opportunity for journalists with diametrically opposed editorial lines to discuss general-interest subjects. MediaLab For Women showed me that we have barely started.”
Alexandra Tchuileu Ngangom, journalist for Cameroon Tribune


More projects carried out in 2021

EN

MédiaLab pour Elles

Collecter, analyser et diffuser les données sur le genre

En Afrique francophone, les données ouvertes (open data) sont d’importantes sources pour les journalistes souhaitant traiter la question du genre. Et quand le data journalisme se met au service de la lutte contre les inégalités entre les femmes et les hommes, cela produit des enquêtes passionnantes qui bousculent les idées reçues.

Calendrier

Avril 2020 - Avril 2022

Budget global

235 000 €

Égalité hommes femmes Francophonie Gouvernance démocratique Jeunesse

Medialab Pour Elles forme depuis 2020 des journalistes au traitement des données ouvertes en matière de genre. En 2021, 24 journalistes (dont treize femmes) travaillant pour 20 médias ont mené huit enquêtes collectives sur les inégalités femmes-hommes.

Après trois semaines d’initiation au journalisme de données et au traitement de la thématique du genre, ces journalistes ont bénéficié d’un accompagnement pédagogique et technique grâce à une équipe de onze formateurs et formatrices. Leurs travaux de recherche, associant recueil de données et témoignages, ont porté leurs fruits avec une dizaine de publications passionnantes dans les médias partenaires en décembre 2021.

« Une aventure humaine et professionnelle novatrice »

L’article consacré au Valifofo, le mariage forcé des enfants a relancé le débat sur cette pratique encore courante dans le Sud de l’île de Madagascar. Celui sur l’impact des zones d’éducation prioritaire sur la scolarisation des jeunes filles du Cameroun a souligné les changements positifs en cours et le besoin de persévérer. Une enquête approfondie sur la parité en politique a été diffusée dans l’Express Madagascar. Un autre sur la prise en compte des femmes dans la mise en œuvre des politiques agricoles du Cameroun a rappelé les difficultés à inclure les femmes dans les programmes de soutien agricole.

« Une expérience à rééditer absolument. Une aventure humaine et professionnelle novatrice qui a permis à des journalistes aux lignes éditoriales diamétralement opposées d’échanger sur des sujets d’intérêt général. Médialab Pour Elles m’a donné de voir à quel point le chemin ne fait que commencer. »
Alexandra Tchuileu Ngangom, journaliste à Cameroun Tribune


Autres projets menés en 2021