FR

MediaLab Environment

Environmental journalism around the Mediterranean Rim

In Arab countries, space devoted to environmental news remains marginal in the media. The topic is often mentioned only sporadically, to cover natural disasters and major international conferences. Yet, this type of news also needs long-term analysis.

 

Timetable

October 2019 - September 2021

Total budget

€490,000

Environment Gender equality The French-speaking world

MediaLab Environment helps to raise awareness of environmental challenges by encouraging journalists to devote more coverage to issues such as water, climate justice and sustainable development. This project mobilises dozens of media professionals on environmental issues by organising discussion among journalists, scientists and civil society.

In 2021, consulting firm OTE Research was asked to conduct a survey to analyse the role of environmental journalism and how it was shaping up in the six countries involved in the project. The results were presented at the International Journalism Conference in Tours, France in October.

Suggesting resources to improve the coverage of environmental issues

CFI made suitable resources available to meet the needs of journalists by publishing Le courrier du climat (“Climate correspondence”). Drawn up by author and journalist Khaled Sulaiman, this toolkit lists key notions and sources for climate change and environmental issues. Presented at an event on the fringe of the 14th forum organised by ARIJ (Arab Reporters for Investigative Journalism), Le courrier du climat garnered great interest among the 200 journalists attending.

Some 20 journalists received support in order to produce content from a solutions journalism angle, to provide more in-depth environmental information, analysing civic and scientific response rather than merely describing issues. The beneficiaries produced 52 videos and podcasts, on topics such as climate justice and gender equality, electronic waste management, employment and the environment and issues such as the increasing scarcity of water.

“MediaLab Environment is an arena for learning and sharing. I managed to hone my knowledge and expand my network, at meetings and training courses. I have become a journalist with a cause.”
Youssef Askour, journalist for Maroc Culture

Fostering discussion and networking among journalists and scientists

A dozen journalists also attended workshops on energy transition, water, sustainable agriculture and public health, led by researchers from the French National Research Institute for Sustainable Development (IRD) and a journalist from the Arabic-language newsroom at France 24. They went on to publish articles on these themes.

Lastly, in December 2021, 300 journalists took part in a debate – organised in partnership with Free Press Unlimited and Planetary Security Initiative during the ARIJ forum – on links between safety and climate issues in the Arab world. Led by Tatiana Massaa, from France 24, the panel included journalists Iman Al Fares (beneficiary of the MediaLab Environment project), Fatima Jihad, Khaled Sulaiman and a scientist in urban planning and the environment, Karim Algendy. They especially addressed the role of journalists in raising awareness among people as to the connections between safety and climate issues.

“It was an important debate (…) Several journalists stated that it had attracted their attention to the link between conflict and climate issues in the region.”
Boris Van Westering, Coordinator of the programme Middle East and North Africa, Free Press Unlimited


More projects carried out in 2021

EN

MédiaLab Environnement

Journalisme environnemental en Méditerranée

Dans les pays du monde arabe, la place de l’information environnementale reste encore marginale dans les médias. Celle-ci est souvent traitée de manière ponctuelle, lors de catastrophes naturelles ou de grands rendez-vous internationaux. Pourtant, ce type d’information doit aussi être pensé sur le long terme.

Calendrier

Octobre 2019 – Septembre 2021

Budget global

490 K€

Égalité hommes femmes Environnement Francophonie

MédiaLab Environnement contribue à mieux informer sur les défis environnementaux en encourageant les journalistes à davantage traiter les questions en lien avec l’eau, la justice climatique ou le développement durable. À travers des échanges entre journalistes, monde scientifique et société civile, ce projet mobilise des dizaines de professionnel•les des médias autour des questions environnementales.

En 2021, une étude a été confiée au cabinet de conseil OTE Research afin d’analyser la place et l’évolution du journalisme environnemental dans les six pays du projet. Les résultats ont été présentés lors des Assises du journalisme de Tours en octobre.

Proposer des outils pour mieux couvrir les enjeux environnementaux

Afin de répondre aux besoins des journalistes en mettant à leur disposition les outils adaptés, CFI a publié Le courrier du climat, une boîte à outils élaborée par l’auteur et journaliste Khaled Sulaiman, regroupant des notions-clés et des sources sur les enjeux environnementaux et climatiques. Présenté dans le cadre d’un événement en marge du 14ème forum d’ARIJ (Arab Reporters for Investigative Journalism), Le courrier du climat a suscité un vif intérêt de la part des 200 journalistes présent•es.

Une vingtaine de journalistes ont été accompagné.es pour produire des contenus sous l’angle du journalisme de solutions, pour offrir une information environnementale dépassant la simple description des problèmes, en analysant les réponses scientifiques ou citoyennes. Cinquante-deux vidéos et podcasts, sur des questions telles que la justice climatique et l’égalité des genres, la gestion des déchets électroniques, l’emploi et l’environnement ou encore les enjeux de la raréfaction de l’eau, ont été produits par les bénéficiaires.

« MédiaLab Environnement est un espace d’apprentissage et de partage au sein duquel j’ai développé mes connaissances et mon réseau, à travers des rencontres et des formations. Je suis devenu un journaliste engagé. »
Youssef Askour, journaliste à Maroc Culture

Favoriser les échanges et le réseautage entre journalistes et scientifiques

Une dizaine de journalistes ont également suivi des ateliers sur la transition énergétique, l’eau, l’agriculture durable et la santé publique, animés par des chercheuses et chercheurs de l’Institut de Recherche sur le Développement (IRD) et une journaliste de la rédaction arabe de France 24, avant de publier des articles sur ces thématiques.

Enfin, en décembre 2021, 300 journalistes ont participé à un débat – organisé en partenariat avec Free Press Unlimited et Planetary Security Initiative dans le cadre du forum d’ARIJ – sur le lien entre enjeux sécuritaires et climatiques dans la région arabe. Le panel, animé par Tatiana Massaa, de France 24, a réuni les journalistes Iman Al Fares (bénéficiaire du projet MédiaLab Environnement), Fatima Jihad et Khaled Sulaiman et le chercheur en urbanisme et environnement Karim Algendy. Les discussions ont notamment abordé la question du rôle des journalistes dans la sensibilisation des populations aux interactions entre enjeux sécuritaires et climatiques.

« C’était un débat important (…) Plusieurs journalistes ont affirmé qu’il avait attiré leur attention sur le lien existant entre le changement climatique et les conflits dans la région. »
Boris Van Westering, Coordinateur du programme Middle East and North Africa, Free Press Unlimited


Autres projets menés en 2021