FR

MediaFit

For relevant and reliable information in Ukraine

On 24 February 2022, Russia launched an all-out war against Ukraine. The field of information is no exception to the attack led by the aggressor country, which distorts facts and events in an attempt to impose its narrative, both on its own population and on the rest of the world. The MediaFit project aims to strengthen the content production of the Ukrainian public television channel Suspilne, helping it to resist and fight back against this backdrop of disinformation and manipulation of opinions.

Calendrier

June 2021 - May 2024

Budget global

4,3 M€

Democratic governance

The war in Ukraine is being fought on several fronts, not least the information front. To support independent and reliable journalism, CFI is helping to build the MediaFit project to support the creation and distribution of programmes made by independent production teams. This high-quality content is then broadcast on Suspilne’s national and regional channels. And after two years’ work, the results are striking: in 2023, 52 documentary episodes were produced, garnering over 400,000 views on YouTube and on the Suspilne VOD platform. MediaFit is a project that produces, broadcasts and has an impact.

MediaFit is also a training programme which, for security reasons, could not be held on site in Ukraine and had to be transferred to neighbouring countries with particularly strong links with Ukraine: Czech Republic and Poland.

For example, in Prague in March 2023, eight members of Suspilne’s documentary development department were invited to the East Doc Platform, an event organised by the Documentary Film Institute (IFD) that offers filmmakers from Central and Eastern Europe training, funding, networking and presentation opportunities.

A few months later, in June 2023, 12 Ukrainian independent documentary producers and two representatives from Suspilne took part in the Eurodoc training course in Warsaw. The training focused on improving the development of documentary projects with international potential, as well as their financing and management, understanding technological changes in the fields of development, production and distribution, and strengthening the international dimension of small and medium-sized enterprises. These themes will provide producers with all the tools they need to ensure that their content is properly produced and broadcast, so as to ensure the pluralism of information, not only in Ukraine but throughout the world… including Russia.


“How do you verify information in a propaganda environment?” Stéphane Siohan

A project

logo partenaire

supported by

logo partenaire

in partnership with

logo partenaire

Photo gallery

More projects carried out in 2023

logo_meae_2020

CFI, an operator of the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs

logo_fmm-en

CFI, a part of France Médias Monde

EN

MediaFit

Pour une information pertinente et fiable en Ukraine

Le 24 février 2022, la Russie entamait une guerre totale contre l’Ukraine. Le domaine de l’information n’échappe pas à l’attaque menée par le pays agresseur, qui déforme les faits et les événements et tente ainsi d’imposer son récit, aussi bien à sa propre population qu’au reste du monde. Le projet MediaFit vise à renforcer la production de contenus de la télévision publique ukrainienne Suspilne, l’aidant ainsi à résister et riposter dans ce contexte de désinformation et de manipulation des opinions.

Calendrier

Juin 2021 – Mai 2024

Budget global

4,3 M€

Démocratie et engagement citoyen

La guerre en Ukraine se joue sur plusieurs fronts, et notamment celui de l’information. Pour appuyer un journalisme indépendant et fiable, CFI participe à la construction du projet MediaFit afin de soutenir la création et la distribution de programmes réalisés par des équipes de production indépendantes. Ces contenus, de haute qualité, sont ensuite diffusés sur les chaînes nationales et régionales de Suspilne. Et après deux années de travail, les résultats sont percutants : en 2023, 52 épisodes documentaires ont été produits, recueillant plus de 400 000 vues sur YouTube et sur la plateforme de VOD de Suspilne. MediaFit, c’est donc un projet qui produit, qui diffuse, et qui a un impact.

MediaFit, c’est aussi un programme de formation, qui, pour des raisons de sécurité, n’a pu se tenir sur place en Ukraine et a dû être transféré dans des pays voisins ayant des liens particulièrement forts avec l’Ukraine : la République Tchèque et la Pologne.

Ainsi, à Prague, en mars 2023, huit collaboratrices et collaborateurs du département de développement du documentaire de Suspilne ont été conviés à l’East Doc Platform, un événement organisé par l’Institut du film documentaire (IFD) et qui offre aux cinéastes de l’Europe centrale et de l’Est des possibilités de formation, de financement, de mise en réseau et de présentation.

Quelques mois plus tard, en juin 2023, ce sont 12 productrices et producteurs et ukrainiens de documentaires indépendants et deux représentant·es de Suspilne qui ont participé à la formation d’Eurodoc à Varsovie. Cette formation était axée sur l’amélioration du développement de projets documentaires à potentiel international ainsi que leur financement et leur gestion, sur la compréhension des changements technologiques dans les domaines du développement, de la production et de la distribution, et sur le renforcement de la dimension internationale des petites et moyennes entreprises. Des thématiques qui permettront aux producteurs et productrices d’avoir toutes les clés en main pour assurer la bonne réalisation et diffusion de leur contenu pour assurer le pluralisme de l’information, en Ukraine mais aussi partout dans le monde… y compris en Russie.


“Comment vérifier les informations dans un environnement de propagande ?” Stéphane Siohan

Un projet

logo partenaire

soutenu par

logo partenaire

en partenariat avec

logo partenaire

Galerie Photos du projet

Autres projets menés en 2023

logo_meae_2020

CFI, un opérateur du ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères

logo_fmm

CFI, une entreprise du groupe France Médias Monde