FR

Makanati

Women and media in conflict zones

Yemen and Iraq are both countries with a heavily male-dominated culture, that have been rocked by instability, and in which the plight of women is a major preoccupation. Makanati (“My Place” in Arabic) encourages women to participate more in society and helps people better understand their problems.

 

Timetable

February 2020 - February 2022

Total budget

€627,000

Gender equality

For the past two years, Makanati has contributed to improving the situation for women in Iraq and Yemen, countries where they regularly fall victim to overt violations of human rights as well as being exposed to sexual assault and sexism-inspired violence. This project encourages women to participate more in society and helps people better understand their problems, via training initiatives for female journalists, and the production and broadcasting of media content.

In 2021, over 100 journalists and students benefitted from training courses on the theme of gender equality. Iraqi scientists produced a roadmap with recommendations to promote the role of women in the media. A national seminar was organised in Yemen, attended by 25 participants – journalists, representatives of SCOs and the local media – to pinpoint possible ways of improving the representation of women by media outlets. Lastly, 70 people were given training in leadership, managing media firms, legislation and policies affecting women, and gender equality in both countries.

“My participation in the Makanati project was a turning-point in my life, in both professional and personal terms.”
Mihraban Salih, journalist and professor at the University of Sulaimani (Iraq)

Three new radio programmes discussing women

Over 150 reports devoted to women were broadcast in 2021, thanks to two platforms Makanati.net and Hodaj.net. Launched in Yemen and Iraq respectively, the platforms are managed by the project beneficiaries. The content was produced by 80 journalists and students from the university’s Media Department, who received individual support on producing reports. In February 2021, Monte Carlo Doualiya radio (MCD) produced a report focussing specifically on Makanati beneficiaries.

Content was monitored to assess the quality of output and issue recommendations. Three women’s radio programmes were launched, broadcasting 65 episodes in Yemen: Saniaat Assalam (“Peacemakers” in Arabic) and Makanati on the radio station Lana, as well as A’ashanik (“For You” in Arabic) on the radio station Yemen Times. These programmes have raised awareness among Yemenites to the need to fight violence against women and gender stereotypes. They have also let women have their say, giving them a chance to discuss their projects, achievements and participation in reconstruction for both countries.

Account by a Yemenite beneficiary, Fatema Ahmed, journalist and professor at the University of Aden (in Arabic, with English sub-titles)


More projects carried out in 2021

EN

Makanati

Femmes et médias dans les zones de conflits

Au Yémen et en Irak, deux pays marqués par une grave instabilité sécuritaire et une culture à forte prédominance masculine, la situation des femmes est devenue une préoccupation majeure. Makanati (« ma place » en arabe) encourage une plus large participation des femmes dans la société et une meilleure compréhension de leurs problèmes par la population.

Calendrier

Février 2020 à février 2022

Budget global

627 K€

Égalité hommes femmes

Depuis deux ans, Makanati contribue à l’amélioration de la situation des femmes en Irak et au Yémen, pays où elles sont régulièrement victimes de violations flagrantes des droits humains et exposées aux violences sexuelles ou sexistes. Ce projet vise une plus large participation des femmes dans la société et une meilleure compréhension de leurs préoccupations par la population, à travers des actions de formation auprès de femmes journalistes, ainsi que la production et la diffusion de contenus médiatiques.

En 2021, plus d’une centaine de journalistes et étudiantes ont bénéficié de formations sur le thème de l’égalité femmes-hommes. Des chercheurs irakiens ont produit une feuille de route avec des recommandations sur la promotion de la participation des femmes dans les médias. Un séminaire national, organisé au Yémen, a réuni 25 participant⸱es – journalistes, représentant⸱es d’OSC et de médias locaux – pour définir des pistes concrètes afin d’améliorer la représentation des femmes dans les organes de presse. Enfin, 70 personnes ont été formées au leadership, à la gestion des entreprises de presse, aux lois et politiques liées aux femmes, et à l’égalité des genres dans les deux pays.

 « Ma participation au projet Makanati a été un tournant dans ma vie, tant sur le plan professionnel que personnel ».
Mihraban Salih, journaliste et professeur à l’université de Sulaimaniya (Irak)

Trois nouvelles émissions de radios pour parler des femmes

Plus de 150 contenus dédiés aux femmes ont été diffusés en 2021, grâce aux deux plateformes Makanati.net et Hodaj.net , lancées respectivement au Yémen et en Irak, gérées par les bénéficiaires du projet. Ils ont été produits par 80 journalistes et étudiantes du département Média de l’université, ayant bénéficié d’un accompagnement individuel pour la production de reportages. La radio Monte Carlo Doualiya (MCD) a, quant à elle, réalisé, en février 2021, un reportage dédié spécifiquement aux bénéficiaires de Makanati. 

Un monitoring de contenus a évalué la qualité des productions et émis des recommandations. Au Yémen, 65 épisodes ont été diffusés grâce au lancement de trois émissions de radio pour les femmes : Saniaat Assalam (« bâtisseuses de paix » en arabe) et Makanati par radio Lana, ainsi que A’ashanik (« pour toi » en arabe) par radio Yémen Times. Ces émissions ont sensibilisé la population yéménite à la nécessité de combattre la violence à l’égard des femmes et les stéréotypes liés au genre, mais leur ont aussi donné la parole, afin d’évoquer leurs projets, leurs réalisations et leur participation dans la reconstruction du pays.

Témoignage d’une bénéficiaire yéménite, Fatema Ahmed, journaliste et professeur à l’université d’Aden (en arabe, sous-titré anglais)


Autres projets menés en 2021