FR

Governance, peace and stability

Contributing to peace in the Indian Ocean region

In the countries of the south-west Indian Ocean, tensions and a loss of confidence have, over the last twenty years or so, distanced the media from the institutions. The Governance, Peace and Stability project, led by the Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) and financed by the French Development Agency (AFD), has been supported by CFI since 2022 to improve the quality of information in Madagascar, Comoros, Seychelles and Mauritius.

 

Calendrier

February 2022 - July 2026

Budget global

8 M€

Democratic governance Gender equality Misinformation

Training courses, coaching sessions, seminars on sensitive issues such as crisis prevention and mediation, the implementation of credible electoral processes, or the promotion and consolidation of democratic governance… A wide range of support is offered to journalists from public and private media who are beneficiaries of the project.

And to ensure the implementation of this support, CFI has asserted itself as a partner of the European Centre for Electoral Support (ECES), the project leader: in 2023, the agency coordinated and implemented two training courses in Madagascar, one in the Seychelles and two in the Comoros. It also helped to organise a conference on best practice in election coverage in Madagascar, an event that was all the more useful given that the Malagasy presidential election took place in November 2023.

In total, 115 journalists – more than half of them women – have already been able to enhance their knowledge of the ethical principles of journalism, improve their editorial skills and review their writing practices for the press, radio, television and online media.

Joining forces to combat fake news

These training courses, attended by representatives of public and political institutions, have also consolidated – or in some cases recreated – links with the media. “Media professionalism is key to our democracy. We have to work hard to promote it”, said Oumouri Mmadi Hassani, Secretary General of the National Assembly of the Union of the Comoros, during one of the training sessions dedicated to the fight against disinformation. Jean-Luc Mootoosamy, journalist, principal expert on the project and director of Media Expertise, also stresses the importance of close dialogue between democratic institutions and the media to guarantee the reliability of information:

“Democratic institutions in the south-west Indian Ocean are taking up the issue, convinced that providing information to the public and combating the spread of “fake news” is not just a matter for journalists. They can play their part by becoming reliable sources of information and encouraging the circulation of information. The actions of the Governance, Peace and Stability project have raised this awareness”.
Jean-Luc Mootoosamy, the project’s media expert and director of Media Expertise

A project

logo partenaire

supported by

logo partenaire

in partnership with

logo partenaire

Photo gallery

More projects carried out in 2023

logo_meae_2020

CFI, an operator of the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs

logo_fmm-en

CFI, a part of France Médias Monde

EN

Gouvernance, paix et stabilité

Contribuer à la paix dans la région de l’océan Indien

Dans les pays du sud-ouest de l’océan Indien, des tensions et une perte de confiance ont, depuis une vingtaine d’années, éloigné les médias des institutions. Le projet Gouvernance, paix et stabilité, porté par la Commission de l’océan Indien (COI) et financé par l’Agence française de développement (AFD), bénéficie depuis 2022 de l’appui de CFI pour améliorer la qualité de l’information à Madagascar, aux Comores, aux Seychelles et à Maurice.

Calendrier

Février 2022 – Juillet 2026

Budget global

8 M€

Démocratie et engagement citoyen Égalité femmes hommes Lutte contre les infox

Formations, sessions de coaching, séminaires sur des thématiques sensibles comme la prévention et la médiation de crise, la mise en œuvre de processus électoraux crédibles, ou la promotion et la consolidation de la gouvernance démocratique… La palette de propositions d’accompagnement est large pour les journalistes de médias publics et privés bénéficiaires du projet.

Et pour assurer la mise en œuvre de ces accompagnements, CFI s’impose comme un partenaire du Centre européen d’appui électoral (ECES), le chef de fil du projet : en 2023, l’agence a coordonné et mis en œuvre deux formations à Madagascar, une aux Seychelles et deux aux Comores. Elle a aussi contribué à l’organisation d’une conférence sur les bonnes pratiques de la couverture des périodes électorales à Madagascar, un évènement d’autant plus utile que l’élection présidentielle malgache a eu lieu en novembre 2023.

Au total, ce sont donc 115 journalistes — dont plus de la moitié étaient des femmes — qui ont déjà pu renforcer leurs connaissances des principes éthiques et déontologiques du journalisme, améliorer leurs compétences éditoriales et revoir leurs pratiques de l’écriture pour la presse, la radio, la télévision et les médias en ligne.

S’unir pour combattre les “infox”

Ces formations, menées en présence de personnes représentant des institutions publiques et politiques, ont aussi consolidé – ou recréé dans certains cas – les liens avec les médias. “Le professionnalisme des médias est clé dans notre démocratie. Nous devons nous investir pour le favoriser” a témoigné Oumouri Mmadi Hassani, secrétaire général de l’Assemblée nationale de l’Union des Comores à l’occasion de l’une des formations dédiées à la lutte contre la désinformation. Jean-Luc Mootoosamy, journaliste, expert principal du projet et directeur de Media Expertise, revient lui aussi sur l’importance d’un dialogue étroit entre les institutions démocratiques et les médias pour garantir la fiabilité des informations :

« Les institutions démocratiques dans la zone sud-ouest de l’océan Indien s’emparent du sujet, convaincues que l’information vers les populations et le combat contre la propagation des “infox” n’est pas seulement l’affaire des journalistes. Elles peuvent y participer en devenant des sources d’information fiables et en favorisant la circulation de l’information. Les actions du projet Gouvernance, paix et stabilité ont éveillé cette prise de conscience. »
Jean-Luc Mootoosamy, expert média du projet et directeur de Media Expertise

Un projet

logo partenaire

soutenu par

logo partenaire

en partenariat avec

logo partenaire

Galerie Photos du projet

Autres projets menés en 2023

logo_meae_2020

CFI, un opérateur du ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères

logo_fmm

CFI, une entreprise du groupe France Médias Monde