FR

DUNIA

Media to help with the climate crisis

Faced with a climate crisis which represents a global issue for the decades ahead, it is critical that African media managers and journalists are made aware of the importance of including environmental issues in their editorial approach in order to warn members of the general public about these issues and provide them with information.

Timetable

November 2019 – April 2021

Total budget

€580,000

Environment Gender equality Social cohesion

CFI’s Dunia project represents a new chapter in its support for East African media coverage of climate issues. This project, which is being implemented in Ethiopia, Kenya and Uganda, began in December 2019 with a seminar in Addis Ababa that brought together around 100 African and European media, civil society and scientific research professionals. Discussion groups provided an opportunity to share experiences and debate topics such as adaptation issues, the aspect of “gender” in climate change, and links between the scientific and media communities.

Debunking misleading news spread by climate sceptics

In 2020, the agency adapted to the travel restrictions imposed due to the health crisis by suggesting that some 30 journalists from 14 media outlets carry out activities remotely. These webinars on the impact of climate change on human health, women’s empowerment or city planning will help those journalists to “popularise” these topics, i.e. make them understandable to the general public when they are covered in news reports or programmes. The journalists were also trained in scientific fact-checking, to debunk misleading information linked to climate scepticism, and in solutions journalism, to go beyond merely describing the problems and instead investigate the potential solutions, including through citizens’ initiatives.

Pooling efforts between media organisations, researchers and CSOs

Dunia is an innovative project that promotes global media responses to environmental issues by making it possible for efforts to be pooled between media organisations, researchers and those civil society organisations (CSOs) that are committed to endorsing compliance with the recommendations proposed by the Convention on Biological Diversity. A Dunia workshop held in December 2020 in a town in Kwalé County, a region of Kenya where mangrove forests grow, brought together a dozen journalists, local community representatives and researchers from the Kenya Marine and Fisheries Research Institute (KMFRI), the French National Research Institute for Sustainable Development (IRD), and the French Agricultural Research Centre for International Development (CIRAD).

The workshop’s attendees discussed the impact of climate change on biodiversity and agriculture, and also discussed respect for the way of life in mangrove-based communities and how to improve this way of life. At the end of the event, which was organised to recognise the 5th anniversary of the COP 21 Paris Agreement, the journalists visited the mangrove in Gazi, where they witnessed the effects of climate change on biodiversity first hand and then produced reports to raise public awareness of a major challenge to overcome, if humans are to thrive alongside nature.

I often interact with researchers in my line of work as a science journalist. But it is rarer to interact with researchers and local communities in tandem. This workshop has given me lots of ideas for reports. I can’t wait to get to work! »
Sharon Onyango (Science Africa)


More projects carried out in 2020

EN

DUNIA

Les médias au service de l’urgence climatique

Face à l’urgence climatique, enjeu mondial des prochaines décennies, il est primordial que les responsables de médias et journalistes africains soient sensibilisés à l’importance d’intégrer les sujets environnementaux dans leur ligne éditoriale afin d’alerter, mais aussi d’informer le grand public sur ces questions.

Calendrier

Novembre 2019 - Avril 2021

Budget global

580 000 €

Cohésion sociale Egalité hommes femmes Environnement

Avec Dunia, CFI marque une nouvelle étape dans son appui au traitement des questions climatiques par les médias d’Afrique de l’Est. Ce projet, qui concerne l’Éthiopie, le Kenya et l’Ouganda, a débuté en décembre 2019, lors d’un séminaire réunissant à Addis-Abeba une centaine de professionnelles et professionnels africains et européens du secteur des médias, de la société civile et de la recherche scientifique. Des groupes de discussion ont permis de partager des expériences et de débattre de sujets tels que les enjeux d’adaptation, la dimension “genre” du changement climatique, ainsi que les liens entre le monde scientifique et la communauté des médias.

Déconstruire les infox propagées par les climato-sceptiques

En 2020, l’agence s’est adaptée aux restrictions de voyage imposées par le contexte sanitaire en proposant à une trentaine de journalistes de quatorze médias des activités à distance. Ces séminaires en ligne sur les effets du changement climatique sur la santé humaine, l’autonomisation des femmes ou encore la planification urbaine les aideront à “vulgariser” ces sujets, c’est-à-dire à les rendre intelligibles au grand public lorsqu’ils sont traités dans des reportages ou des émissions. Les journalistes ont aussi été formés à la vérification scientifique des faits, pour déconstruire les fausses informations liées au climato-scepticisme, et au journalisme de solutions, pour dépasser la simple description des problèmes et enquêter sur les réponses pouvant y être apportées, y compris à travers des initiatives citoyennes.

Mutualiser les efforts entre médias, scientifiques et OSC

Projet innovant, Dunia encourage les réponses médiatiques globales aux questions environnementales, en facilitant une mutualisation des efforts entre les médias, les scientifiques et les organisations de la société civile (OSC) engagées dans le plaidoyer pour le respect des recommandations de la Convention sur la diversité biologique. En décembre 2020, un atelier organisé dans une localité du comté de Kwalé, une région du Kenya où se situent des forêts de mangrove, a ainsi réuni une dizaine de journalistes, représentants des communautés locales et scientifiques de l’Institut de recherche du Kenya sur la mer et la pêche (KMFRI), de l’Institut de recherche pour le développement (IRD) et du Centre de coopération internationale en recherche agronomique pour le développement (CIRAD).

Les bénéficiaires de cet atelier ont débattu des impacts du dérèglement climatique sur la biodiversité et l’agriculture, mais également du respect et de l’amélioration des modes de vie des communautés établies dans les mangroves. L’événement, organisé dans le cadre du 5ème anniversaire des Accords de Paris sur le climat, s’est terminé par une visite de terrain dans la mangrove de Gazi, où les journalistes ont constaté les effets du changement climatique sur la biodiversité et réalisé des reportages pour sensibiliser le public sur un enjeu majeur de co-viabilité entre les êtres humains et la nature.

En tant que journaliste scientifique, j’interagis souvent avec des scientifiques. Ce qui est moins courant, c’est d’interagir conjointement avec des scientifiques et des communautés locales. Cet atelier m’a donné beaucoup d’idées de reportages. J’ai hâte de me mettre au travail ! »
Sharon Onyango (Science Africa)


Autres projets menés en 2020