FR

Dialogues on migrations

Changing perceptions of migration

All too often, public debate on migration conveys stereotypical and degrading images of migrant populations. Therefore, the media have an important role to play in disseminating information about migration that respects truth and human dignity. The Dialogues on migration project was designed with this objective in mind.

Calendrier

April 2021 - November 2023

Budget global

936 K€

Democratic governance Gender equality Misinformation

The Dialogues on Migration project can be satisfied with its results. A participatory study covering 16 countries, 80 journalists trained, 40 media outlets participating, an African platform for distributing content on migration created… The figures are significant, as was CFI’s intention when the project was set up, which was to develop an inclusive civic debate to change public perceptions of migration.

Launched in 2021, the project had two components. Firstly, a participatory study carried out in 16 countries in Africa, the Middle East and Latin America to analyse the representations of migration conveyed in the media and on social media. The results of this study were presented in February 2023 in Paris, at a forum attended by around a hundred journalists and institutional and civil society players (teaching staff, associations, NGOs) from some thirty countries.

In a second phase pilot actions were implemented in four countries with fragile ecosystems (Niger, Guinea, Mauritania, Gambia). They began in 2022 and continued in 2023 to train a total of 80 journalists from 40 media outlets in the ethical handling of migration issues and in fact-checking. At the end of the training, 29 print, online and audiovisual surveys were produced in English, French and African languages, 17 of which focused on ethical handling and 12 on deconstructing false information about migrants. Technical and financial support was also provided for micro-projects carried out by students at four journalism schools: the Higher Institute of Information and Communication (ISIC-Kountia) in Guinea, the Higher School of Communication and Media Sciences (ESSCOM) in Niger, the National School of Administration, Journalism and Magistracy (ENJAM) in Mauritania, and the Media Academy for Journalism and Communication (MAJaC) in the Gambia.

A platform for disseminating verified and contextualised information on migration

Finally, Dialogues on migration has entrusted The African League of Cyber-Activists and Bloggers for Democracy, commonly known as AfricTivistes, with the responsibility of creating and managing an information platform (www.dialoguemigration.com) to co-produce and disseminate verified, contextualised and detailed information on migration.

This platform is a success for information on migration, far removed from political divisions and sensationalism. It would not have been possible to combat the circulation of stereotypical views on migration without the determination of all stakeholders.

“It is essential to involve all stakeholders in the dialogue on migration – citizens, migrants and the media – and to create spaces for everyone to contribute their experiences, always in the interests of respectful information on migration”.
Danila Chiaro, ICMPD – Project Euromed Migration


“How can we encourage dialogue on migration?” – Interviews at the Dialogue on migration forum in Paris – March 2023

A project

logo partenaire

supported by

logo partenaire

in partnership with

logo partenaire

Photo gallery

More projects carried out in 2023

logo_meae_2020

CFI, an operator of the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs

logo_fmm-en

CFI, a part of France Médias Monde

EN

Dialogues migrations

Faire évoluer les représentations sur les migrations

Dans le débat public, les discours sur les migrations véhiculent trop souvent des images stéréotypées et dégradantes pour les populations migrantes. Les médias ont donc un rôle important à jouer pour diffuser des informations respectueuses de la vérité et de la dignité humaine sur les migrations. Le projet Dialogues migrations a été conçu avec cet objectif.

Calendrier

Avril 2021 – Novembre 2023

Budget global

936 K€

Démocratie et engagement citoyen Égalité femmes hommes Lutte contre les infox

Le projet Dialogues Migrations peut se satisfaire de son bilan. Une étude participative couvrant 16 pays, 80 journalistes formé·es, 40 médias participants, une plateforme africaine de diffusion de contenus sur les migrations créée… Les chiffres sont forts, tout comme l’était la volonté de CFI à la création du projet, qui avait pour défi de développer un débat citoyen et inclusif pour faire évoluer les représentations sur les migrations diffusées dans l’espace public.

Le projet, lancé en 2021, comptait deux volets. Tout d’abord, une étude participative, menée dans 16 pays d’Afrique, du Moyen-Orient et d’Amérique latine pour analyser les représentations véhiculées dans les médias et les réseaux sociaux sur les migrations. Les résultats de cette étude ont été présentés en février 2023 à Paris, lors d’un forum qui a réuni une centaine de journalistes et d’actrices et acteurs institutionnels et de la société civile (personnel enseignant, associations, ONG) originaires d’une trentaine de pays.

Dans un second temps, des actions pilotes ont été mises en œuvre dans quatre pays aux écosystèmes fragiles (Niger, Guinée, Mauritanie, Gambie). Elles ont débuté en 2022 et se sont poursuivies en 2023 pour former, au total, 80 journalistes de 40 médias au traitement déontologique des questions migratoires et au fact-ckecking. Au terme de ces formations, 29 enquêtes de presse écrite, en ligne et audiovisuelle ont été produites en anglais, en français et en langues africaines, dont 17 axées sur le traitement déontologique et 12 sur la déconstruction de fausses informations sur des personnes migrantes. Un appui technique et financier a également été fourni à des micro-projets réalisés par des étudiants et étudiantes de quatre écoles de journalisme : l’Institut supérieur de l’information et de la communication (ISIC-Kountia) en Guinée, l’École supérieure des sciences de la communication et des médias (ESSCOM) au Niger, l’École nationale d’administration, du journalisme et de la magistrature (ENJAM) en Mauritanie, et la Media Academy for Journalism and Communication (MAJaC) en Gambie.

Une plateforme pour diffuser des informations vérifiées et contextualisées sur la migration

Enfin, Dialogues migrations a confié à La ligue africaine des cyber-activistes et blogueurs pour la démocratie, communément appelée AfricTivistes, la responsabilité de créer et de gérer une plateforme d’information (www.dialoguemigration.com) pour co-produire et diffuser des informations vérifiées, contextualisées et circonstanciées sur la migration.

L’aboutissement de cette plateforme est une réussite pour l’information sur la migration, loin des clivages politiques et du sensationnel. Il n’aurait pas été possible, sans la volonté de toutes les parties prenantes de lutter contre la circulation des discours stéréotypés sur les migrations.

« Il est essentiel d’impliquer toutes les parties prenantes dans le dialogue migratoire — citoyens et citoyennes, migrants et migrantes, médias — et de créer des espaces pour que chacun et chacune apporte ses expériences, toujours au profit d’une information respectueuse sur les migrations. »
Danila Chiaro, ICMPD – Projet Euromed Migration


“Comment encourager le dialogue sur les migrations ?”- Interviews au forum Dialogues migrations à Paris – Mars 2023

Un projet

logo partenaire

soutenu par

logo partenaire

en partenariat avec

logo partenaire

Galerie Photos du projet

Autres projets menés en 2023

logo_meae_2020

CFI, un opérateur du ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères

logo_fmm

CFI, une entreprise du groupe France Médias Monde