FR

Desinfox Africa

Fighting fake news in East and Central Africa

The widespread broadcasting of fake news is a major factor contributing to social turmoil in a growing number of African countries. As a result, journalists need to acquire fact-checking tools and techniques.

 

Timetable

October 2020 – December 2023

Total budget

€1.5 million

Misinformation The French-speaking world

Desinfox is helping four to six media outlets in six African countries to develop columns or programmes to fight fake news. The plan is to train 55 journalists from 31 media outlets in fact-checking methods and techniques and to support their managers as they implement strategies to secure a wider audience and seek partnerships.

In early 2021, journalists from Senegal, Cameroon and the Central African Republic were selected to take part, then in July, the training activities were launched in the six countries involved in the project. In Dakar, eight trainers from Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso, Benin and Central African Republic first consolidated their own skills, before embarking on their assignments to help media outlets launch their columns and programmes to fight fake news in August.

Fact-checking: definition and strategies

In the autumn, journalists from Central African Republic, Cameroon and Senegal followed a foundation course on the basics of fact-checking and related ethics. Technical fact-checking workshops on various narrative formats in multimedia (press, web and social media, radio and television) helped the media reach a wider audience by producing content that is easier to grasp and more hard-hitting. Sessions on social media monitoring and publication strategy were also held in Benin and Ivory Coast.

“The last session in Dakar was very instructive and important, giving me practical resources that I now use in my work as a journalist. These training courses have helped me acquire fact-checking reflexes.”
Amadou Ba, journalist at InnovAfrika (Senegal)

In 2021, the newsrooms were provided with support in the implementation of new fact-checking strategies. They were in particular able to leverage an online training application “Let’s combat misleading information”, developed by CFI in partnership with the France 24 Observers and the LAFAAAC academy.

See video (in French only):

“The Desinfox training courses are very useful. I personally found the Smart Brevity [k1] and Listicle segments very useful. We adopted a practical stance to explore fact-checking methods, which I now use on a daily basis.”
Cryspin Laoundiki, journalist at Le Faso (Burkina Faso)

The year ended with CFI helping to organise the third AfricTivists Summit. Attended by bloggers, activists and institutions, it was held from 11 to 13 November in Abidjan (Ivory Coast) with the aim of sharing ideas and fostering synergy. During this event, the presenter of the RFI programme “Les Dessous de l’infox” (The inside story of fake news), Sophie Malibeaux, led a panel discussion on misinformation.


More projects carried out in 2021

EN

Désinfox Afrique

Lutter contre la propagation des infox en Afrique de l’Est et Centrale

La diffusion massive d’infox constitue un facteur majeur de désordre social dans un nombre croissant de pays africains. Elle rend nécessaire l’acquisition par les journalistes d’outils et techniques de vérification des faits.

Calendrier

Octobre 2020 – Décembre 2023

Budget global

1,5 M€

Francophonie Infox

Désinfox accompagne quatre à six médias dans six pays africains dans le développement d’une rubrique ou d’une émission de lutte contre les fausses informations. Ce projet prévoit de former 55 journalistes de 31 médias à la méthodologie et aux techniques de vérification de l’information et d’appuyer leurs responsables dans la mise en œuvre de stratégies d’élargissement d’audience et de recherche de partenariats.

Le début de l’année 2021 a été marqué par la sélection de journalistes bénéficiaires au Sénégal, au Cameroun et en République Centrafricaine, et par le lancement des activités de formation dans les six pays du projet à partir de juillet. Ainsi, à Dakar, huit formateurs ivoiriens, burkinabés, béninois et centrafricains, ont commencé par renforcer leurs compétences, avant de démarrer, au mois d’août, leurs missions auprès de médias pour les aider à lancer leurs rubriques ou émissions de lutte contre les fausses informations.

Fact-checking et stratégies de vérification de l’information

Des journalistes centrafricains, camerounais et sénégalais ont bénéficié à l’automne d’une première formation aux bases du fact-checking et à la déontologie de la vérification de l’information. Des ateliers techniques sur différents formats de narration multimédia du fact-checking (presse écrite, web et réseaux sociaux, radio et télévision) ont aidé les médias à atteindre une audience plus large en renforçant l’efficacité et la lisibilité de leurs productions. Des sessions consacrées à la stratégie de veille et de publication sur les réseaux sociaux se sont également tenues au Bénin et en Côte d’Ivoire.

« La dernière session, à Dakar, a été très instructive et importante, elle m’a donné des outils concrets que j’utilise à présent dans mon travail de journaliste. Au fil des formations, j’ai acquis des réflexes de fact checker. »
Amadou Ba, journaliste Innovafrika (Sénégal)

En 2021, les rédactions ont été accompagnées dans la mise en œuvre de nouvelles stratégies de vérification de l’information. Elles ont pu notamment s’appuyer sur l’application de formation en ligne « Luttons contre les infox », développée par CFI en partenariat avec les Observateurs de France 24 et l’entreprise LAFAAAC.

Voir la vidéo :

«  Les formations Désinfox sont très utiles. À titre personnel, les modules sur Smart Breverty et Listicle m’ont été d’une grande utilité. Il s’agit de mode de traitement d’article de fact-checking très pratique et que j’utilise au quotidien. »
Cryspin Laoundiki, journaliste Le Faso (Burkina Faso)

La fin de l’année a été marquée par la participation de CFI à l’organisation de la troisième édition du Sommet AfricTivistes, du 11 au 13 novembre à Abidjan (Côte d’Ivoire), qui a rassemblé blogueurs, blogueuses, activistes et institutions, pour partager des idées et faire naître des synergies.  Lors de ces journées, Sophie Malibeaux, responsable de l’émission « Les Dessous de l’infox » à RFI, a animé un panel de discussions consacré à la désinformation.


Autres projets menés en 2021