FR

CITIZEN CONNECTIONS 2

Assisting with the emergence of digital citizen-action projects

As civil society in Africa is increasingly active in the pursuit of effective and transparent public action, it requires sufficient knowledge and the right ecosystem to sustainably realise and share its initiatives.

Timetable

August 2019 – September 2022

Total budget

€3.25m

Democratic governance Digital Gender equality Social cohesion The French-speaking world Young people

Thanks to funding provided by the French Development Agency (AFD), Citizen Connections 2 was launched in 2020. This project harnesses information and communication technology (ICT) to help reduce the digital divide between men and women, encourage young people to engage in civic matters, and give citizens greater control of public initiatives. This three-year project, which is aimed at the whole of French-speaking Africa, supports the emergence of a community sharing digital and citizen-focused solutions on the continent.

5,000 people registered for the MOOC

The first part of 2020 was spent finalising a remote training tool – the Citizen Connections MOOC* – and preparing a mass communication campaign which was launched in late September 2020. The two-month campaign was covered by more than 35 national and international media organisations, including France 24, RFI and TV5 Monde, with additional promotion on social media. The campaign led to around 5,000 young people from 22 countries across Northwest and sub-Saharan Africa registering for the MOOC, more than 800 of which gained certification. Thirty freely accessible online video clips presented by fifteen European and African experts raised awareness of the issues and opportunities arising from CivicTech** among this wide audience. While students accounted for a third of those registered, the MOOC was also popular among members of civil society, the media and public authorities, who represented almost half of the registered participants. 

« “A great learning experience that gave me the tools to be useful in my community and develop democracy through digital technology. »
Carine Désirée Yao, an Ivorian participant in the MOOC

500 responses to the call for projects

With modules that were more practical and focused on the funding or human resources of a CivicTech project, the MOOC also allowed participants to gain the basic skills to develop their social or civic engagement thanks to digital tools. A discussion forum and quizzes rounded off the course to encourage learning in a fun and interactive way. The MOOC is also highly committed to addressing gender equality, as 40% of its contributors are women and several modules focus on women in CivicTech. A communication campaign exclusively for women was also launched on social media. This played a part in ensuring that women accounted for a third of the course’s final intake.

Lastly, the MOOC was a tool to recruit project leaders en masse, who will then go on to receive support in the future. 500 young citizens from French-speaking Africa responded to the call for applications launched in November 2020 to select 25 innovative and engaging projects that will benefit from an incubation programme to develop their initiatives in 2021.


*MOOC: Massive Open Online Courses.
** CivicTech: all procedures, tools and technologies that can improve the political system.


More projects carried out in 2020

EN

CONNEXIONS CITOYENNES 2

Accompagner l’émergence de projets numériques d’action citoyenne

Engagée de plus en plus activement en faveur d’une action publique efficace et transparente, la société civile d’Afrique a besoin de connaissances suffisantes et d’un écosystème favorable pour concrétiser, pérenniser et partager ses initiatives.

Calendrier

Août 2019 - Septembre 2022

Budget global

3,25 M€

Cohésion sociale Egalité hommes femmes Francophonie Gouvernance démocratique Jeunesse Numérique

Lancé en 2020, grâce à un financement de l’Agence Française de Développement (AFD), Connexions Citoyennes 2 contribue à la participation citoyenne des jeunes, au contrôle citoyen de l’action publique et à la réduction de la fracture numérique de genre, à travers l’usage des technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC). Ce projet de trois ans, qui s’adresse à l’ensemble de l’Afrique francophone, accompagne l’émergence d’une communauté partageant des solutions numériques et citoyennes sur le continent.

5 000 personnes inscrites au MOOC

La première partie de l’année 2020 a été consacrée à la finalisation d’un outil de formation à distance, le ‘‘MOOC* Connexions Citoyennes’’, et la préparation d’une campagne massive de communication qui a débuté fin septembre 2020. Cette campagne de deux mois a été relayée par plus de trente-cinq médias nationaux et internationaux, dont France 24, RFI et TV5 Monde, ainsi que sur les réseaux sociaux. Elle a conduit à l’inscription au MOOC d’environ 5 000 jeunes originaires de 22 pays du Maghreb et d’Afrique sub-saharienne, dont plus de 800 ont obtenu la certification. Trente capsules vidéo en ligne, accessibles gratuitement et animées par quinze expertes et experts européens et africains ont sensibilisé ce large public aux enjeux et opportunités de la CivicTech**. Si un tiers des inscrits était constitué d’étudiants et étudiantes, le MOOC a également été plébiscité par des membres de la société civile, des médias ou des autorités publiques, qui ont représenté près de la moitié des inscrits.

« Un grand moment d’apprentissage qui m’a donné les outils pour me mettre au service de ma communauté et développer la démocratie à travers le numérique. »
Carine Désirée Yao, participante ivoirienne au MOOC

500 réponses à l’appel à projets

Avec des modules plus opérationnels axés sur le financement ou les ressources humaines d’un projet CivicTech, le MOOC a aussi offert la possibilité d’acquérir un socle de compétences de base pour développer un engagement social ou civique grâce aux outils numériques. Un forum de discussion et des quiz ont complété le dispositif pour favoriser les acquisitions de manière ludique et interactive. Le MOOC s’est aussi fortement engagé sur la question du genre avec 40% d’intervenantes et plusieurs modules dédiés à la question des femmes dans les CivicTech. Une campagne de communication « 100% femmes » a également été lancée sur les réseaux sociaux. Elle a contribué à obtenir un tiers de femmes parmi les personnes finalement inscrites.

Enfin, le MOOC a constitué un outil de mobilisation massif pour le recrutement des porteuses et porteurs de projets qui seront accompagnés par la suite. Ainsi, 500 jeunes citoyens et citoyennes d’Afrique francophone ont répondu à l’appel à candidatures lancé en novembre 2020 pour la sélection de 25 projets innovants et engagés, qui bénéficieront, en 2021, d’un programme d’incubation pour développer leurs initiatives.


*MOOC : Massive Open Online Courses.
** Civic Tech : ensemble des procédés, outils et technologies qui permettent d’améliorer le système politique.


Autres projets menés en 2020