FR

Aswatna

Sudanese radio stations striving to achieve democracy

Against a backdrop of political instability and intra-community tensions in Sudan, Aswatna (“Our Voices” in Arabic) relies on the radios to broadcast content on the theme of national reconciliation, thus helping to foster  conditions conducive to public debate ahead of the upcoming elections.

 

Timetable

September 2020 – June 2022

Total budget

€127,000

Democratic governance

Since 2020, Aswatna has provided the Sudan Academy for Communication Sciences and Media Training with support to train journalists and chief editors working for Sudanese radio stations and encourage the production of high-calibre content in Sudan.

After a needs survey, in collaboration with the radio station Monte Carlo Doualiya, CFI ordered and sent the audio and video equipment needed to renovate the studios in Khartoum in May 2021. An expert in the production and broadcasting of media content then went to the Sudanese capital in July to install these new facilities. The Academy now boasts a radio studio for recording and broadcasting, a studio for audio editing and another for video editing, in addition to the video production set they already had. These facilities are available to Sudanese journalists as well as training beneficiaries (public administrations, state media and some private media outlets). The Academy’s two technical operations managers have also been taught how to use the new equipment.

“The Academy now has studios fitted with excellent equipment, that we are very proud of. Furthermore, my colleague and I were provided with support to get to grips with these facilities. We are now in a position to pay it forward, training the staff in charge of technical operations in our studios, as well as those of state radio stations in the coming months.”
Weameldeen Abdelmageed, Joint Manager of Technical Operations at the Sudan Academy for Communication Sciences and Media Training studios

Training reporters to produce radio reports

Training courses for reporters and the chief editors of Sudanese radio stations will round off this scheme: 42 people from 15 different states in Sudan, including 22 women, were selected in October to attend two sessions on the production of radio reports on the subject of national reconciliation and the transition to democracy.


More projects carried out in 2021

EN

Aswatna

Des radios soudanaises œuvrent pour la transition démocratique

Dans un contexte d’instabilité politique et de tensions intracommunautaires au Soudan, Aswatna (« nos voix » en arabe) s’appuie sur les radios pour diffuser des contenus sur le thème de la réconciliation nationale et contribuer, ainsi, à instaurer des conditions favorables au débat public avant les prochaines élections.

Calendrier

Septembre 2020 – Juin 2022

Budget global

127 k€

Gouvernance démocratique

Depuis 2020, Aswatna accompagne l’Académie soudanaise des Sciences de la communication et de la formation aux médias, pour former des journalistes et des rédacteurs et rédactrices en chef de radios soudanaises et encourager la production de contenus de qualité au Soudan.

Après une étude des besoins, en collaboration avec la radio Monte Carlo Doualiya, CFI a commandé et envoyé le matériel audiovisuel nécessaire à la rénovation des studios à Khartoum en mai 2021. Un expert en production et diffusion de contenus médias s’est ensuite rendu dans la capitale en juillet pour installer ces nouveaux équipements. L’Académie possède aujourd’hui un studio radio pour l’enregistrement et la diffusion, un studio de montage audio et un autre de montage vidéo, en plus du plateau de production vidéo déjà existant. Ces équipements sont mis à la disposition des journalistes soudanais ainsi que des bénéficiaires des formations (administrations publiques, médias publics et quelques médias privés). Les deux responsables de l’exploitation technique de l’Académie ont également été initiés à l’utilisation du nouveau matériel.

 « L’Académie possède maintenant des studios équipés avec du matériel d’une excellente qualité dont nous sommes fiers. Par ailleurs, l’accompagnement dont nous avons bénéficié avec mon collègue nous a permis de maîtriser l’utilisation des équipements et donné la capacité de former à notre tour le personnel responsable de l’exploitation technique de nos studios, ainsi que celui des radios publiques dans les prochains mois ».
Weameldeen Abdelmajid, co-responsable de l’exploitation technique des studios de l’Académie soudanaise des Sciences de la communication et de la formation aux médias

Former des journalistes à la production de reportages radios

Des formations pour journalistes et rédacteurs et rédactrices en chef de radios soudanaises compléteront ce dispositif : 42 personnes de quinze états différents du Soudan, dont 22 femmes, ont été sélectionnées en octobre pour suivre deux sessions sur la production de reportages radios en lien avec la réconciliation nationale et la transition démocratique.


Autres projets menés en 2021