FR

AMA BAAD

Online meetings and resources to adapt journalistic practices to the health crisis

The COVID-19 pandemic and lockdown measures taken by governments have radically reshaped journalism during 2020. For three months, the Ama Baad project – “Ama Baad” being an Arabic expression meaning “and after”, or “then” – provided online resources and meetings to journalists from 12 Arab countries, to give them the key tools to adapt. 

Timetable

June 2020 – August 2020

Total budget

€100,000

Digital Environment Gender equality Social cohesion

Launched by CFI in partnership with a media outlet from the Levant, Daraj, and one from Northwest Africa, Barr Al Aman, Ama Baad provided Arabic-speaking journalists in the region with content production support, and also shared experiences and expert advice with these journalists to help them fully understand these complex subjects.

Ama Baad represents an opportunity and is a precious resource in the context of the crisis triggered by the pandemic. This project has encouraged people to meet and interact, overcoming the obstacles created by travel restrictions. »
Ahmad Sabaa Ellil, Egyptian journalist

A Facebook group has been created to encourage networking and to share relevant resources. This group had over 750 members at the end of 2020. Half of these were young people and women accounted for 45% of all members. This space has made it possible to share hundreds of resources as well as unpublished productions on sustainable development-related topics.

Online discussions to debate key issues

Sixteen online discussions were held over the course of three months, some with the involvement of the France 24 in Arabic and Monte Carlo Doualiya news teams. Around 20 journalists from the project’s 12 target countries took part in these weekly gatherings. Each video posted on the Facebook group has had about 100 views. 

Various topics linked to the pandemic were addressed, whether there was a direct or indirect link. These included health issues (emergence of viruses, mental health during lockdown, vaccination), misleading information and hate speech, environmental problems, inequality, and educational issues. These meetings also cast the spotlight on gender equality.

I found the Ama Baad discussions and the resources shared through the group to be very useful in terms of getting ideas for journalistic investigations and identifying reliable sources. »
Abdul Jalili Al Yusi, Yemeni journalist


More projects carried out in 2020

EN

AMA BAAD

Des rencontres et des ressources en ligne pour adapter la pratique journalistique à la crise sanitaire

En 2020, la pandémie de Covid-19 et les mesures de confinement prises par les gouvernements ont bouleversé les pratiques journalistiques. Ama Baad – expression qui signifie en arabe “et après, ensuite” – a proposé durant trois mois, aux journalistes de douze pays du monde arabe, des rencontres et des ressources en ligne pour leur fournir des clés d’adaptation.

Calendrier

Juin 2020 – Août 2020

Budget global

100 000 €

Cohésion sociale Egalité hommes femmes Environnement Numérique

Initié par CFI, en partenariat avec un média du Levant, Daraj, et du Maghreb, Barr Al Aman, Ama Baad a apporté aux journalistes arabophones de la région un soutien à la production de contenus, mais aussi un partage d’expériences et des conseils d’experts et expertes pour les éclairer sur ces sujets complexes.

Ama Baad constitue une opportunité et une ressource précieuse dans le contexte de la crise provoquée par la pandémie. Ce projet a favorisé les rencontres et les échanges, dépassant les obstacles engendrés par les restrictions de déplacement. »
Ahmad Sabaa Ellil, journaliste égyptien

Un groupe Facebook a été créé pour encourager le réseautage et mettre en commun des ressources pertinentes. Il réunissait, fin 2020, plus de 750 membres, dont 45% de femmes et 50% de jeunes. Cet espace a permis de partager des centaines de ressources ainsi que des productions inédites sur des thématiques de développement durable.

Des “conversations” en ligne pour débattre d’enjeux cruciaux

Durant trois mois, seize conversations en ligne ont été organisées, pour certaines d’entre elles avec la participation des rédactions de France 24 en arabe et de Monte Carlo Doualiya. Une vingtaine de journalistes des douze pays ciblés par le projet ont participé à ces rendez-vous hebdomadaires. Chaque vidéo postée sur le groupe Facebook a comptabilisé d’une centaine de consultations.

Diverses thématiques, directement ou indirectement liées à la pandémie, ont été abordées : questions sanitaires (émergence des virus, santé mentale en temps de confinement, vaccination), infox et discours violents, problématiques environnementales, inégalités, enjeux d’éducation… Ces rencontres ont également accordé une place importante à la question de l’égalité des genres.

Les conversations d’Ama Baad et les ressources partagées à travers le groupe m’ont été très utiles pour trouver des idées d’enquêtes journalistiques et identifier des sources fiables. »
Abdul Jalili Al Yusi, journaliste yéménite


Autres projets menés en 2020